Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

jacobsen homelite hydro leak


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 04:20 PM

Starting to work  on my new to me jake. I have a hydro leak around the filter housing. Anyone had this issue and how much and what kind of fluid to refil? What filter will fit?  Appreciate  any advice. 

 

post-66775-0-42939400-1422566146.jpg 20141018_103054.jpg 20141018_103119.jpg

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20141017_212942.jpg

Edited by Texas Deere and Horse, January 29, 2015 - 05:46 PM.
rotated ID tag photo

  • Oldford said thank you

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,344 Thanks
  • 39,622 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 29, 2015 - 04:37 PM

:wave: Welcomne to the forum! Nice Jake!

You may be able to cross that filter # to something like Wix or NAPA. I have been using a hydraulic/transmission oil in my Ford & Sears FF tractors. Seems like a complete fill was around a gallon and a half, plus/minus.



#3 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 05:04 PM

Thanks Kenny. what brand can I pickup at Walmart.



#4 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,344 Thanks
  • 39,622 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 29, 2015 - 05:07 PM

I don't remember what brand they have at the moment. I have been getting mine lately at Atwoods. Just look for the Hyd/tranny oil in gallon or 2 gallon jugs.



#5 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,743 Thanks
  • 7,515 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted January 29, 2015 - 05:50 PM

Welcome to GTT. Check out our Manuals Section for more info. Good Luck, Rick



#6 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 05:51 PM

Walmart doesn't  have any, will this work  from tractor supply?http://tractorsupply...lic-fluid-2-gal


  • KennyP said thank you

#7 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 05:53 PM

Boyscout I downloaded the owners manual and mini service manual but didn't  see the capacity



#8 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,795 Thanks
  • 2,192 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted January 29, 2015 - 06:32 PM

It's there , but it should be 5 Qts . That does look like a "hytrans" type fluid . If you have a day I can get out to garage and get the number off filter I get from local guy, can't remember brand, but I'll take pics too.
Welcome aboard !
Tom

#9 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,344 Thanks
  • 39,622 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 29, 2015 - 06:34 PM

Walmart doesn't  have any, will this work  from tractor supply?http://tractorsupply...lic-fluid-2-gal

That should work just fine! I think we had a thread somewhere on capacity. I'd get 2 gallons if you are going to drain & refill. Above the fill/check plug is a vent. You can take that out to fill at, but put the check plug back in while filling.



#10 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 07:38 PM

Tom that would be cool, I think I'm going to work  on it thIs weekend.



#11 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 07:40 PM

Has anyone fixed the filter housing leak?



#12 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,344 Thanks
  • 39,622 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 29, 2015 - 07:40 PM

My Ford has the inline right now. I just put a new one on it just before the engine blew!



#13 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,344 Thanks
  • 39,622 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 29, 2015 - 07:41 PM

Are the lines tight? I hope it isn't cracked. Did you make sure the filter is tight?



#14 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 07:44 PM

The filter was loose I tightened it, but didn't  stop it. Maybe  a new one will solve it. What do you mean by an in line?



#15 Beast Jacobson OFFLINE  

Beast Jacobson
  • Member
  • Member No: 66775
  • 12 Thanks
  • 22 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 29, 2015 - 07:54 PM

By the way make sure you clean the fins on the tranny 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20141019_160947.jpg
  • 20141019_154257.jpg
  • 20141019_180112.jpg

  • TomLGT195 said thank you




Top