Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Testing Windows 10 Preview


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#16 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,756 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted January 31, 2015 - 07:29 PM

I have it dual booting with " :( Vista :(



#17 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,972 Thanks
  • 8,664 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 31, 2015 - 07:31 PM

I tried and due to age the chipset and bios are not supported by Win10.  Oh well, time to try a virtual machine.

Are you going to run it in a VB on the same machine you tried to load it physically?  That would be interesting if it ran.

 

 

I was thinking of putting it on one of my other Dells . But just don't get warm & fuzzy feeling with all the questions before installing implying more than good chance of crashes during the testing period.    

 

You do realize that when it is called Beta or testing that you better expect crashes because its not a case if it will but just when.  You should also make note of what you were doing when it crashed and then try to do it again.  If you can repeat it then it should be reported to MS so they can look into it.


  • gopher and Auburn David have said thanks

#18 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,756 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted January 31, 2015 - 07:32 PM

I recommend it ...I hated 8 and 8.1...but 10 is great so far.



#19 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,756 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted January 31, 2015 - 07:33 PM

It will run in VM mode I am told,I haven't tried it ....YET ;)



#20 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,756 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted January 31, 2015 - 07:34 PM

I might actually buy this one when it comes out..



#21 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,972 Thanks
  • 8,664 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 31, 2015 - 07:37 PM

I might actually buy this one when it comes out..

 

You won't have to.  MS announced that it will be free for Win 7 & 8 users.  Check it out here.


  • Auburn David said thank you

#22 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,756 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted January 31, 2015 - 08:22 PM

You won't have to.  MS announced that it will be free for Win 7 & 8 users.  Check it out here.

Yea I saw that..but thats just for the 1st year as I understand it?



#23 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 9,121 Thanks
  • 5,574 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted January 31, 2015 - 08:48 PM

I am still using 7 and xp.

I am in love with 8.1 on my Dell venue 11 pro
  • Auburn David said thank you

#24 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,304 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted January 31, 2015 - 10:21 PM

I would love to dual boot it to give it a go but will have to settle for the virtual machine. I already dual boot with Windows 7 and Linux. I boot in to Linux 99% of the time when I have work to do on the site and server. 


  • Trav1s and Auburn David have said thanks

#25 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,972 Thanks
  • 8,664 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted February 01, 2015 - 10:33 AM

Yea I saw that..but thats just for the 1st year as I understand it?

 

yea that is kind of a catch, SP1 won't be out until probably after the deadline.  But I would think if you waited for say 10 or 11 months and then updated, there may be a ton of updates to do, but you should be OK.  After all look how long it took them to get XP in to a good OS.


  • Auburn David said thank you




Top