• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Oliver 2-44 OFFLINE  

Oliver 2-44
  • Member No: 66772
  • 47 Thanks
  • 28 posts

Posted January 23, 2015 - 09:47 AM

This weekend I'm going to look at a Bolens Ride-a-matic that belonged to a coworkers uncle. it reportedly has a tiller and a mower deck. I currently have no idea of condition.

I need some help getting an idea what the price for this tractor should be.. I'm new to the tractor restoration hobby, but have worked with farm tractors for years. As my used name indicates I have a mid 1960's Oliver 2-44 backhoe/loader that I've done a lot of rework on to keep it operational for use at the family farm. I currently have 2 Wheelhorse tractors, a worker 312-8 and a C161 being restored, but I'm new to the old Bolens.

Am I correct that the Ride-a-Matic was made from 1957 to 1962?

and

The 57&58 has round fronts & noses, then they gradually went to more of a square front with the 62 being very boxy

What is this current price range these are selling for. I realize condition and completeness have a lot to do with price.

So

Best Condition -if in good condition, complete with original paint that has a nice old patina, night run as-is with a little cleanup:$$

Fair Condition -if in fair condition, missing a few small items but fairly complete, half rust, half paint but not excessively painted :$$

Poor condition- if in poor condition missing or bent up or heavily pitted sheetmetal, all rusted, missing motor or other major parts $$

Thanks for any guidance. I want to be offer the owner affair price, but not be taken for way more than it's worth. if I buy it, I will keep it and make it a show tractor or ride it in parades, etc.

• NUTNDUN, grand, blackjackjakexxix and 3 others have said thanks

#2 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

Therapy CAT

• Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,739 Thanks
  • 8,913 posts

Posted January 23, 2015 - 09:53 AM