• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 chaz071 OFFLINE  

chaz071
  • Member No: 66472
  • 0 Thanks
  • 2 posts

Posted January 16, 2015 - 05:16 PM

Hi All - great forum, I am a mechanic and love these types of forums. I got an old LGT 14D from an auction, it's been going great but now it doesn't charge. I can see what appears to be an AC alternator running off the belt with two wires coming out. Is this correct. I cannot find a workshop manual for it so I am flying blind. I did look in the manuals section with no luck. Any help would be most appreciated.

Cheers

Rob

#2 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts

Posted January 16, 2015 - 05:36 PM

Welcome to GTtalk Rob.  Some of the Ford guys should be along shortly.  I'm not familiar with the 14D but if you are looking under the tractor at this alternator it sounds more like you are looking at the PTO.  The stators are usually under the flywheel.  Could you give us a bit more info like what motor you have brand, model etc.  Have you check the voltage at the battery static and then running?

#3 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,344 Thanks
  • 39,622 posts

Posted January 16, 2015 - 05:49 PM

:wave: Welcome to the forum! All we have is an operators manual for those. Hang around a bit, someone will come along with insight to your issues!

#4 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,555 Thanks
  • 29,815 posts

Posted January 16, 2015 - 07:07 PM