10 replies to this topic

#1 jj69chev OFFLINE  

jj69chev

Tractorholic

• Member No: 626
  • 24 Thanks
  • 150 posts

Posted January 14, 2015 - 09:25 AM

Towards the end of last fall I had a branch come up from under the tractor and push the radiator back into the fan on my 430. After a lot of searching I finally found a replacement radiator and fan. Last night I finished the reassembly and started the tractor up. It started good and ran fine, then about a minute later it started knocking. I shut it down and checked for any leaks and double checked the oil. All was fine. So I restarted, though maybe since it was sitting for so long maybe the oil just needed to start flowing again, and sounded fine. Idled for a bit then I brought it to full speed, sounded fine, then the knock came back, so I backed it down to idle, which caused it to quit. Any Ideas of what would cause this? I'm no diesel expert so any insight would be appreciated.

#2 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,564 Thanks
  • 29,819 posts

Posted January 14, 2015 - 09:51 AM

Check the drive shaft unit for any loose play.
  • jj69chev and superaben have said thanks

#3 jj69chev OFFLINE  

jj69chev

Tractorholic

• 24 Thanks
  • 150 posts

Posted January 14, 2015 - 09:53 AM

will do, but really sound like an engine knock. I will try to get video tonight

#4 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts

Posted January 14, 2015 - 09:57 AM

Check the drive shaft unit for any loose play.