Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

How do I add Remote Hydraulics?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted December 16, 2014 - 12:06 PM

I want to add remote hydraulic connections to the rear of my MF1020 because I was thinking of buying a 3pt log splitter.

The tractor already has a loader with quick release hoses so that you can remove the loader.

I was thinking I could just put a "T" inline with the loader hoses where they attach to the tractor.

Then attach one end of the T to the loader hose and the other end to a hose with a QR that would exit the rear of the tractor. Is it that simple or am I missing something?



#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,735 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 16, 2014 - 02:20 PM

You will probably have to make that connection before a valve on the pressure side so you will have pressure to the valve on the splitter. Not sure how your QR's are hooked up on the loader!


  • tweidman said thank you

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted December 16, 2014 - 02:27 PM

I want to add remote hydraulic connections to the rear of my MF1020 because I was thinking of buying a 3pt log splitter.

The tractor already has a loader with quick release hoses so that you can remove the loader.

I was thinking I could just put a "T" inline with the loader hoses where they attach to the tractor.

Then attach one end of the T to the loader hose and the other end to a hose with a QR that would exit the rear of the tractor. Is it that simple or am I missing something?

 

If you just "T" the loader lines, the loader will operate the same time as the log splitter, unless you unhook the loaders hydraulic lines first. Is that what you are going to do? If so, just park the splitter close to the quick couplers and use it hem to hook the splitter up.


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#4 Bruce Dorsi ONLINE  

Bruce Dorsi

    Old, but not dead -- yet!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1525
  • 3,179 Thanks
  • 2,148 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted December 16, 2014 - 09:55 PM

Todd:

 

I'm not familiar with your Massey, so pardon my ignorance.

 

Have you compared the flow (gpm) of the tractor hydraulics to the size of the splitter cylinder?  .....Often, the tractor's pump may not be sufficient to create an acceptable cycle time on the splitter. 

 

You did not specify if the splitter has its own control valve, or if you plan on using the loader's control to activate the splitter.  ....Some hydraulic systems require open-center valves, while some require closed-center valves.



#5 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,165 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted December 17, 2014 - 04:13 AM

That little machine does not have enough GPM for a decent cycle I fear. You just can't "tee" into an open center hydraulic system. You need to run in series and you need to be sure what ever valve is first in line can handle return line high pressures!! If it can't handle your systems pressure..... Your gonna have a mess on your hands! Hydraulic oil .
For a hydraulics guy this would be easy, as they would know what you have and how to get things to flow correctly. My advice; take it to someone who knows for help with the plumbing and proper valve selection.

#6 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,323 Thanks
  • 28,640 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 17, 2014 - 08:11 AM

Todd,
I would try contacting the MF dealer and seeing what the pressures and flow are and also what the suggested method is for plumbing.
I'm sure you're not the only guy who has tried to do this and they may have a couple of good suggestions.

I know on our 165, it has an aux port that was just about right for splitters. The neighbor had one with linkages going from the splitter to the control handles. Worked pretty well and had an abundance of power.

#7 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted December 17, 2014 - 11:32 AM

You will probably have to make that connection before a valve on the pressure side so you will have pressure to the valve on the splitter. Not sure how your QR's are hooked up on the loader!

The control valve is attached to the loader, so when you remove the loader, everything goes, controls and all. You are left with the loader frame and the supply and return hose with the QR ends.


  • MH81 and KennyP have said thanks

#8 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted December 17, 2014 - 11:36 AM

If you just "T" the loader lines, the loader will operate the same time as the log splitter, unless you unhook the loaders hydraulic lines first. Is that what you are going to do? If so, just park the splitter close to the quick couplers and use it hem to hook the splitter up.

Why would the loader operate at the same time? I could see the loader and the splitter not working well at the same time.

I probably could just hook up the splitter to the loader feed, but then I would lose the loader. That would defeat the purpose of having the loader to move the wood.



#9 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted December 17, 2014 - 11:39 AM

Todd:


You did not specify if the splitter has its own control valve, or if you plan on using the loader's control to activate the splitter.  ....Some hydraulic systems require open-center valves, while some require closed-center valves.

 All the splitters I have seen have there own control valve on the splitter. Otherwise it would be too difficult to use if you were trying to load a log then go back to the tractor to operate the splitter.


Edited by tweidman, December 17, 2014 - 11:46 AM.


#10 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted December 17, 2014 - 11:41 AM

That little machine does not have enough GPM for a decent cycle I fear.

Hydraulics:

Type: open center

Pump flow: 5.1 gpm [19.3 lpm]


Edited by tweidman, December 17, 2014 - 11:42 AM.


#11 skyrydr2 ONLINE  

skyrydr2

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,165 posts
  • Location: Gardner, Massachusetts!

Posted December 17, 2014 - 11:51 AM

Yeah, that's what I thought, kind of low.... About 19.4 seconds just to get to the wedge, if it has a 4.5"x24" cylinder.
  • MH81 said thank you

#12 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted December 17, 2014 - 11:55 AM

After looking, it seems that most of the splitters have a 5 gpm requirement.


Edited by tweidman, December 17, 2014 - 12:05 PM.


#13 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,735 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 17, 2014 - 01:03 PM

The control valve is attached to the loader, so when you remove the loader, everything goes, controls and all. You are left with the loader frame and the supply and return hose with the QR ends.

Okay! Didn't know how your machine is set up!



#14 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,323 Thanks
  • 28,640 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 17, 2014 - 02:22 PM

After looking, it seems that most of the splitters have a 5 gpm requirement.

That would be a smaller splitter. Probably under 15 ton, for sure under 20.
Our 28 ton was 13? GPM, I think? I will see if I can find the book.

Edit, 15 GPM. It's an older unit, but I am seeing new ones in the 13-18 range.

#15 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted December 17, 2014 - 03:23 PM

It sounds like a 3pt splitter isn't going to be my best choice.






Top