Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Windows 10 preview.


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2014 - 06:21 AM

I haven't installed it yet and not sure if I will. I seen Windows 10 preview was available and signed up for it. Right now though I don't have a spare pc to give up to mess with it. From what I have seen though it looks to be more like a flat windows 7 with tiles in the start menu.


  • Alc and panzersarebest have said thanks

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,395 Thanks
  • 39,658 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 12, 2014 - 06:25 AM

And I just got 8.1! :wallbanging:



#3 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,446 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted December 12, 2014 - 06:50 AM

My home  laptop uses Windows Vista does that make me a caveman lol ?



#4 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2014 - 06:59 AM

I think Windows 10 will be what 8 should have been. I would like to test it out but I don't want to wipe any of my current setups just to test it.


  • MH81 said thank you

#5 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,395 Thanks
  • 39,658 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted December 12, 2014 - 07:24 AM

Do what I did. Go to a pawn shop and pick up a Win 8 unit for ~$200. Came with a wide screen monitor and keyboard. Guy there restored it back to factory specs before I brought it home. It's pretty quick compared to what I am used too! Can be upgraded to 32GB of memory and can put the Intel Core i7-3XXX (Ivy Bridge) in it!



#6 crittersf1 OFFLINE  

crittersf1

    GT Lunatic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 26142
  • 4,167 Thanks
  • 5,759 posts
  • Location: Newport, N.C.

Posted December 12, 2014 - 09:07 AM

That's all Greek to me!



#7 panzersarebest OFFLINE  

panzersarebest
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 36584
  • 523 Thanks
  • 407 posts
  • Location: Apple Creek, Ohio

Posted December 12, 2014 - 10:13 AM

I hope it is more like windows 7.



#8 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 12, 2014 - 11:03 AM

I think Windows 10 will be what 8 should have been. I would like to test it out but I don't want to wipe any of my current setups just to test it.

 

You have Elementary installed.  Go to the repo's and install Virtual Machine and install Win 10 to the VM.


  • NUTNDUN said thank you

#9 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2014 - 11:06 AM

You have Elementary installed.  Go to the repo's and install Virtual Machine and install Win 10 to the VM.

 

Bill, you're so right. What is bad is I already have VM installed because of testing other distros. Might have to fire this thing up tonight or tomorrow.


  • HDWildBill said thank you

#10 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted December 12, 2014 - 12:12 PM

What happened to version 9?? I guess they are still trying to catch up to OSX!!



#11 Canawler OFFLINE  

Canawler

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1273
  • 1,893 Thanks
  • 1,750 posts
  • Location: York, PA

Posted December 12, 2014 - 12:13 PM

Windows 10?
What happened to Windows 9?

#12 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 12, 2014 - 12:26 PM

What happened to version 9?? I guess they are still trying to catch up to OSX!!

 

M$ has never been consistent with their naming conventions.  Example we went from windows 98 to ME then Windows 2000 the XP, Vista then back to windows 7.  Here an article that has some theories about it.  The bottom line is they name their products like they write their code, helter skelter.


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#13 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2014 - 06:21 PM

MS 10 is installing now on virtualbox. If it completes the whole setup I will post a couple of screenshots from it.


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#14 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2014 - 06:58 PM

I am posting this from the Windows 10 preview. I tried using the new IE but it kept crashing so I installed google chrome and it seems to be working alright. 10 is definitely a step in the right direction and what 8 should have been. It is basically a flattened look windows 8 with the desktop being a default rather than the tiled main start menu.

 

They added tiles to the regular start menu off to the right which isn't bad. Also has a desktop switcher so you can have multiple virtual desktops which Linux has had for years. Not sure I like the global search tool.

 

Here are a couple of screenshots. Will tinker with it some more as I get time.

 

Start Menu:

Start_Menu.jpg

 

PC Settings:

PC_Settings.jpg

 

Folder View:

Folder_view.jpg

 

New IE:

New_IE.jpg

 

Desktop Switcher:

Desktop_Switcher.jpg


  • Texas Deere and Horse and KennyP have said thanks

#15 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,697 Thanks
  • 8,555 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 12, 2014 - 07:28 PM

In the file manager did they do away with it scanning the folder before it showed the files?  I hate that about Win 7.  The menu looks a lot like the KDE menu and/or Ubuntu.  I have also heard that Win 10 uses repo's like Linux has used for years.  Have they separated the user data from the OS in separate partitions?

 

I have been dealing with Win 7 updates and their genuine windows crap. 






Top