• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 DrBob762 OFFLINE  

DrBob762
  • Member No: 54859
  • 3 Thanks
  • 6 posts

Posted December 07, 2014 - 01:15 AM

my son and i have made a deal for a 750 John deer (Yanmar) tractor the biggest broblem is that it wont go into gear with the engine running and the clutch pressed ALL the way down(gears grinding). I think the clutch plate may have rusted to the flywheel and is not disengaging. Also when i removed the rubber plug to inspect the plate, i found a small pice of steel in the plug recess. It looks like it might be a pice of one of the release bearing retainer clips. In any case the clutch needs to be looked at. Any sagely advise on splitting the tractor to get in there. I was an automotive tech for 27 years and bout done it all with cars and trucks but my exp. with tractors is limited. all technical advise on how to effect this manuner greatly appricated.  DrBob762

#2 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted December 07, 2014 - 07:51 AM

Do you have a service manual.  The parts diagrams are available online at JDParts.com. If you do a model no. search for 750 the tractor should come up in the list. If you do an online search for clutch repair on that series of tractors 650, 750 etc. you may come up with a video of someone doing the job. 

#3 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

Tinker Master

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,311 Thanks
  • 4,661 posts

Posted December 07, 2014 - 08:40 AM

To do this you will need to split the tractor.  To do it safely you will need a tractor stand.  One of these will need to be mobile or able to move.  They can be fabricated if you have the tools & equipment or you may buy them.  I have bought the JD manual you need off the web for ~10..  Start there..  If you own the tractor- own the manual..Good Luck!