• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jazz ONLINE  

Jazz
  • Member No: 62028
  • 1,440 Thanks
  • 950 posts

Posted November 24, 2014 - 02:28 PM

I am considering buying a second sears tractor. It is advertised as a good running 11HP tractor with a snowblower. The owner says the transaxle is "blown" Is it a big deal to replace. Are the parts common or rare. Any comments welcome as I am very new to GT's. Here's a pic of the one I am looking at, seller priced at $100.00

I currently have a

Sears SS/16
room for more!

Attached Thumbnails

• image.jpg

• MountainMichael said thank you

#2 Bmerf OFFLINE  

Bmerf

Patina Farmer / Rust Collector

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9846
  • 1,708 Thanks
  • 1,445 posts

Posted November 24, 2014 - 09:39 PM

Not in the same class as SS/16, but a decent machine none the less.

Vertical shaft engine, possibly with the weird stepped crankshaft. Check the pulley on the engine for looseness. The stepped crankshaft used a very small key to hold pulley and over time may have destroyed the keyway.

I have had a few that were similar, never had a issue with the transaxle, some of these didn't even have a transaxle. They had a small 3 speed transmission with chain drive down to the rear axle. 

Replacement parts should be easy to obtain, many machines used the same components. But you are north of the border and it could be fairly rare in your area.

My take is: running motor $50+, rear weights $40-50, snow blower (assuming it has no issues) $100-150+.

Check around for a parts machine first. Then ask yourself if this is a common model that you can find parts for or possibly could sell if not. Last thing you want to do is have a machine that is worthless because imported parts are too expensive or have parts to sell that no one needs. 

• Jazz said thank you

#3 Jazz ONLINE  

Jazz
  • 1,440 Thanks
  • 950 posts

Posted November 25, 2014 - 01:34 PM