10 replies to this topic

#1 New.Canadian.DB.Owner OFFLINE  

New.Canadian.DB.Owner
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10178
  • 2,223 Thanks
  • 1,450 posts

Posted November 21, 2014 - 07:32 PM

I am new to welding & have been using NR-211 flux core wire because that's what came with the welder.  I do mostly mild steel (1018) & some thin sheet metal work.  I am out & need to buy more.  What is a good general purpose flux core wire? 

#2 tater195 ONLINE  

tater195

I dont deny your history..... dont deny mine

• Member No: 62468
  • 1,306 Thanks
  • 933 posts

Posted November 21, 2014 - 07:35 PM

I use the forney or lincoln .035, which ever is in stock at the farm store. 10# spool is around $75

• New.Canadian.DB.Owner said thank you

#3 dodge trucker ONLINE  

dodge trucker
  • Member No: 19314
  • 1,437 Thanks
  • 1,895 posts

Posted November 21, 2014 - 10:07 PM

menards by me had some .035 flux core on the clearance rack the last few times I'd been in there but I run gas with solid wire, "gasless" does me no good.... but I have  a"big" Miller MIG

#4 Jazz ONLINE  

Jazz
  • Member No: 62028
  • 1,433 Thanks
  • 947 posts

Posted November 21, 2014 - 11:04 PM

Buy  a quality wire from your local welding house i.e.: liquid air or whoever is in your area. If you are using flux core buy quality over quantity ,  there is a difference. JMHO

#5 ol' stonebreaker ONLINE  

ol' stonebreaker
  • Member No: 12515
  • 1,304 Thanks
  • 973 posts

Posted November 21, 2014 - 11:19 PM

The OP probably doesn't have gas capability, but when I bought my MM 175 I tried the 1 lb roll of flux core that came w/ it and switched to solid wire w/ C25. That flux core is still on the shelf under the mig. If I need to weld something 1/4" I crank it all the way and burn it in good. Anything thicker the old Thunderbolt stick machine comes into play. I don't fret about burning holes w/ the mig. With manual pulse weld you can fill any hole.

Mike