Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Power King Throw Out Bearing

so many

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 marion2 OFFLINE  

marion2
  • New Member
  • Member No: 57195
  • 0 Thanks
  • 4 posts
  • Location: clymer,pa.

Posted November 06, 2014 - 07:30 PM

I been a member awhile,though i rarely contribute.

I ran in to a problem with my 1614 power king transmission.

It is not actually the trany. but the front collar that the throw-out-bearing glides on.

 This one i have is worn badly. A piece on the front edge is broken and missing.

As the bearing can not properly move fore and aft, i can not ingage the clutch.

 Question is do i buy an collar,( the input shaft is inside this) or have one machined?  

 Thankyou for a responds..

 marion2



#2 Username OFFLINE  

Username

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2568
  • 2,065 Thanks
  • 1,425 posts
  • Location: Punxsutawney,Pa

Posted November 06, 2014 - 09:10 PM

I have one you could have for cheap.I could sent it or you could pick it up.


  • marion2 said thank you

#3 glgrumpy OFFLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,647 Thanks
  • 6,460 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted November 06, 2014 - 09:54 PM

Easy to remove from trans, it unbolts from front with those three bolts and slides off. Yes, broken or worn grooves cause the bearing to catch. I would replace the same bearing as long as you have apart. Taking tractor apart to get to it, is the hardest part. The engine and all front sheet metal have to come off to slide engine forward and clear trans to get at it. Was wondering tho, how does that part get Broken, not just worn?? Wondering if you have a driveline alignment problem? It all should just slip together easy w/out lifting the engine or trans much if aligned OK. Parts show up on epay all the time, like this one. Course, you already got one fella's offer here, so good to go, I guess.


  • Alc and marion2 have said thanks

#4 marion2 OFFLINE  

marion2
  • New Member
  • Member No: 57195
  • 0 Thanks
  • 4 posts
  • Location: clymer,pa.

Posted November 07, 2014 - 11:26 AM

I sure like hearing from you. Perhaps part of my problem is converting a k321 from a Case 444 to the

power king.I had to put an extention on the shaft to insert to the pully on the transmission.

A 2nd. thing was to make motor mounts to fasten the engine down. missalinement could happen.



#5 marion2 OFFLINE  

marion2
  • New Member
  • Member No: 57195
  • 0 Thanks
  • 4 posts
  • Location: clymer,pa.

Posted November 07, 2014 - 11:42 AM

where are you in Punxsutawny?

Your not far from my home,,so i could drive over Saturday aftrenoon. 11/8/2014



#6 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,443 Thanks
  • 6,609 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted November 07, 2014 - 12:53 PM

I'm a little confused , you added an extension to the input shaft ?
  • marion2 said thank you

#7 marion2 OFFLINE  

marion2
  • New Member
  • Member No: 57195
  • 0 Thanks
  • 4 posts
  • Location: clymer,pa.

Posted November 07, 2014 - 03:10 PM

I added an extenstion to the crankshaft of the  case 444 k321,,to connect the trany pullys. 



#8 Username OFFLINE  

Username

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 2568
  • 2,065 Thanks
  • 1,425 posts
  • Location: Punxsutawney,Pa

Posted November 07, 2014 - 04:03 PM

where are you in Punxsutawny?

Your not far from my home,,so i could drive over Saturday aftrenoon. 11/8/2014

I am about 8 miles west of Punxsy.

 

814-952-1356



#9 glgrumpy OFFLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,647 Thanks
  • 6,460 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted November 09, 2014 - 12:10 PM

Extension?  Case has short cranks, just need to mount a pump coupler on them.  How is the extension mounted? Just a center bolt? Seems would need much more or just break off!  Enquiring minds want to know.  Don't Case have same flat pan for mounting engine? Would think all that dimensions would be same. You can push or tap down the driveline if too high to make straight alignment into clutch, but would think if you've had it in there awhile, it probly moved itself into align.






Top