30 replies to this topic

#1 red79 OFFLINE  

red79
  • Member No: 60181
  • 57 Thanks
  • 44 posts

Posted November 06, 2014 - 01:48 PM

Hello Bolens folks,

Question for those of you who have been there, done that:  What is the best way to set up a tractor with headlights when no charging system is on board?  Or is it just a bad idea?

My situation is that I'm still new to tractors, I have a G-10 with no charging system and the dummy headlight covers, and I'm going to use this tractor to push snow.  Being that I work a 9-5 job, this means that most of my snow removal will be in the dark.  I'd like to get some headlights that fit into the existing hood cutouts.  I'm not sure whether the little 12v battery that the starter uses could run lights, but my gut tells me it could, especially since I start it a couple of times per week and get a month out of the battery before it even starts to show the need for a charge.  I assume the easiest way to rig up lights would be to use the battery as a power source.  Is this a workable idea?  The last thing I want to do is to destroy one battery after another by running them too low.

Has anybody here done this kind of headlight arrangement?  Do you think it would get me 3 hours of run time without hurting the battery?  3 minutes?  If I do this, I would commit to keeping the battery on a tender when not in use, by the way.

Let me know your guys' thoughts.  I'd hate to be pushing snow in the dark all winter!!

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,281 Thanks
  • 28,615 posts

Posted November 06, 2014 - 01:54 PM

i would be suspect of three hours being OK, but depending oin your current draw on the lights, you could get some time out of it.

I would suggest going with LED's as the power consumption would be much lower.