• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 VillageGreenDeere OFFLINE  

VillageGreenDeere
  • Member No: 62247
  • 17 Thanks
  • 32 posts

Posted October 29, 2014 - 01:24 PM

I've got the new gasket in hand, and new (old) old pan, and I wondering what I do next?  I have never done this before.  I scraped the old gasket off the block with a razor blade, then buffed it out with a scotch bright pad and some gas.  Is there a special next step, paste, sealer, heat?  or do I just line it up and tighten evening?

#2 hamman OFFLINE  

hamman

Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

• Contributor
  • Member No: 1733
  • 5,629 Thanks
  • 2,585 posts

Posted October 29, 2014 - 01:42 PM

I would put a even coat of permatex on the pan and block just to make sure it will seal completely, then tighten randomly and torque to spec.   JM2CW. 

Roger.

• JDBrian said thank you

#3 bhts OFFLINE  

bhts

Bob's Lawn and Garden Tractors

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 945
  • 1,413 Thanks
  • 2,117 posts

Posted October 29, 2014 - 02:46 PM

Just make sure all is clean and line up the gasket and tighten no need for any thing else.

• hamman and superaben have said thanks

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted October 29, 2014 - 03:44 PM

Providing the 2 surfaces are in good shape you shouldn't need to do anything other than install the gasket. For added insurance you could use the Permatex as said above. When I do it I put a thin layer on one side of the gasket, fit that to one side of the assembly then coat the other side and put it together. I am paranoid about any extra adhesive getting somewhere it shouldn't be. 

• hamman said thank you

#5 VillageGreenDeere OFFLINE  

VillageGreenDeere
  • Member No: 62247
  • 17 Thanks
  • 32 posts

Posted October 29, 2014 - 04:35 PM