• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Kmac1 OFFLINE  

Kmac1
  • Member No: 62275
  • 521 Thanks
  • 221 posts

Posted October 07, 2014 - 02:52 PM

Hi.  I'm new to GT tractor forum.  (kinda)  I have been reading the Massey/Snapper?AMF forum for the last several days. Tons of good info in there.  I bought a MF 1450 last fall knowing the deck was locked up.  Got it apart and the center bearing was seized up, which will be no problem.  My question is can someone tell me how to replace the left rear axle seal on this tractor.  Do i need to take out the axle and replace it from the inside??   Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

Kmac1

• Sawdust said thank you

#2 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

• Member No: 795
  • 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts

Posted October 07, 2014 - 03:20 PM

Welcome Kmac1. You just have to jack up the rear of your tractor,remove the wheel,pull your hub off.Then use a flat head screwdriver to pop out your old seal and replace it with a new one. Then put it all back together and your done

• Kmac1 said thank you

#3 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

• 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts

Posted October 07, 2014 - 03:22 PM

I used my 1450 for mowing duties for 3 years,and loved it. How bout some pics of yours.

• Kmac1 said thank you

#4 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,653 Thanks
  • 29,841 posts

Posted October 07, 2014 - 03:56 PM

The outer seal just behind the hub is more or less a dust seal.  The true axle seal is next to the differential housing & requires pulling the axle tube off the trans housing.  The seal is the same on both sides and the OE part # is 368369X1.  The outer dust seal is part #842569M1

• limebuzz said thank you

#5 limebuzz ONLINE  

limebuzz

• 863 Thanks
  • 879 posts

Posted October 07, 2014 - 04:16 PM