#1 SearsYellow OFFLINE  

SearsYellow

Mower Extraordinaire

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10530
  • 449 Thanks
  • 561 posts

Posted October 02, 2014 - 06:56 PM

I have Kubota GF1800 4x4. Runs and mows greeeaaaat.. Well tonight I decided I would change the oil. Rotella 15w40 (even though it recommends 10w-30). By the book it states it takes 3.2 qts. Well on the bottle of Rotella it has the marks stating what the measurements are. I got the oil level to be between the 1/2 mark and the 1 qt mark. It's reading above the full line. Well this hurt if I put in .10 of a qt of oil to much? I am a true newbie to the diesel world.

Attached Thumbnails

• image(19).jpeg

#2 Chopperhed OFFLINE  

Chopperhed
  • Member No: 20120
  • 1,852 Thanks
  • 1,071 posts

Posted October 02, 2014 - 07:48 PM

I have Kubota GF1800 4x4. Runs and mows greeeaaaat.. Well tonight I decided I would change the oil. Rotella 15w40 (even though it recommends 10w-30). By the book it states it takes 3.2 qts. Well on the bottle of Rotella it has the marks stating what the measurements are. I got the oil level to be between the 1/2 mark and the 1 qt mark. It's reading above the full line. Well this hurt if I put in .10 of a qt of oil to much? I am a true newbie to the diesel world.

Does it have an oil pump and filter or is it splash oiled?

If it has a pump and filter, it should be run a bit before the level is checked.

If it is splash oiled, the level should be checked cold.

I can't see  0.10 quarts of oil  being too much on either system.

On a splash oiled system, too much oil can cause hydraulic lock, if the oil gets in the cylinder.

Not sure of the effect on a pressurized system.

Edited by Chopperhed, October 02, 2014 - 07:50 PM.

#3 UncleWillie ONLINE  

UncleWillie

wabbit wangler

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10399
  • 12,754 Thanks
  • 7,700 posts

Posted October 02, 2014 - 10:26 PM

I wouldnt think that small of an amount would hurt anything.

#4 1978murray OFFLINE