Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bolens Repower


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 oliver2655 OFFLINE  

oliver2655
  • Member
  • Member No: 26808
  • 37 Thanks
  • 82 posts
  • Location: northern indiana

Posted September 24, 2014 - 08:40 PM

i have a bolens tube frame tractor with a pretty worn out motor. i plan on pulling the motor until i have the time/money to possibly fix it. i have a 12hp kohler motor that i have sitting around and i was wondering if anyone else has had any luck putting a kohler in one of these tractors? i think i can stuff the motor in there but i cant seem to find a very good spot for a gas tank. it has a fuel pump so im not too worried about it being mounted high. This is the tractor i would like to put the motor on

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1007121258a.jpg


#2 junkman OFFLINE  

junkman
  • Member
  • Member No: 61811
  • 125 Thanks
  • 58 posts
  • Location: Nevada Misouri

Posted September 24, 2014 - 09:01 PM

I imagine anything could be modified to fit. Seen a many go through the junkyard I use to work at but never saved any. Did take a twin cylinder Wisconsin off one and put it on the tractor in my avatar, so anything is possible. Good luck.



#3 EricFromPa ONLINE  

EricFromPa

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,298 Thanks
  • 2,332 posts
  • Location: Bedford County Pa.

Posted September 25, 2014 - 01:34 AM

Is it a Wide base Kohler? Narrow block? And what for Oil pan is on it?

 

Wide base kohler is Alot taller and will not fit under the hood A Narrow base kohler might fit under the hood but it will be Very Very close to the grill in the front.

 

 

I was going to put a Wide base K301 in my old 1050 but after taking the old tired Wisconsin out and sitting the Kohler in the frame it was Instantly Very clear that it would not fit under the hood without cutting a huge hole in the middle of the hood.

 

 

Either way you look at it your going to have to buy longer PTO And Drive belts if you repower with something other than the Wisconsin or a Tecumseh.The Crank is a couple inches higher on an engine with an engine with a Bolt on Oil Pan/Sump.



#4 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,681 Thanks
  • 17,202 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted September 25, 2014 - 04:36 AM

Usually by the time you modify everything to make an engine fit, it is actually cheaper just to rebuild your original engine....


  • Bill56 said thank you

#5 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,681 Thanks
  • 17,202 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted September 25, 2014 - 05:25 AM

What model do you have?

Looks like it sarted life as a 650/750 then someone swapped engines and the hood.



#6 oliver2655 OFFLINE  

oliver2655
  • Member
  • Member No: 26808
  • 37 Thanks
  • 82 posts
  • Location: northern indiana

Posted September 25, 2014 - 02:39 PM

its a 650 tractor. i have the original hood but it is in rough shape  so i threw this one on for now. the motor is not original either but it fits fine. i have lots of belts laying around and making the engine mount to the frame shouldnt be too big of a deal. the only thing i have been worried about is getting the hood to fit. from what i measured if i flip the hinge on the front everything will clear except the carb. i plan on trying to put the motor in today. will update with what i come up with! :thumbs:






Top