Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Wiring help for a 3 prong welder plug


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 251 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted March 03, 2010 - 08:08 PM

I just bought a 250v 50a receptacle to match my 220v welder plug. It only has three prongs.
The one connection is colored green, that is the easy one, ground.
What about the other two?
My guess is that the other two are both hot (red and black) and it doesn't matter which prong gets red or which gets black, right?
I guess it does not use a neutral (white)?

Does anyone know for sure? I don't what to blow up my welder, or myself.:mad2:

Posted Image

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 38,841 Thanks
  • 30,711 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted March 03, 2010 - 08:11 PM

Yep, no matter which sides you hook the 110 feeds. Ground wire to green, either/or red/black to lines.

#3 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 251 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted March 03, 2010 - 08:20 PM

So, I'm right that it doesn't use a return (neutral)?

#4 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 5,072 Thanks
  • 5,485 posts

Posted March 03, 2010 - 08:34 PM

White or neutral not used, only need red+black both side's of the line and the ground wire green.
  • tweidman said thank you

#5 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 38,841 Thanks
  • 30,711 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted March 03, 2010 - 08:34 PM

No neutral...just ground for safety, and will work without the ground. 220 stuff works by each 110 line working against another as opposing forces. Not sure of the dynamics...it just works! LOL
  • tweidman said thank you

#6 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 251 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted March 03, 2010 - 08:39 PM

Great, Thanks guys. That is what I was thinking. I never feel that confident with 220v stuff, so I wanted to double check. :D:D:thumbs::thumbs:

#7 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,304 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted March 05, 2010 - 02:22 PM

110 and 220 don't bother me, it is three way switches that bother me LOL




Top