The Squirrel Hunt.

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 alleyyooper OFFLINE  

• Member No: 58852
  • 849 Thanks
  • 350 posts

Posted September 10, 2014 - 07:06 AM

Deer season 1995  I took a stand in the oak woods of the UP deer camp. One evening I was watching a whole passel of squirrels working the area for acorns. They were busy little critters then as dusk came about they started going hither and yon to their night’s home.  One big old oak tree had a knot hole about 3 to 4 inches in diameter about 20 feet up. I watched 6 squirrels go in that hole and heard the ruckus in side that hole as they settled in for the night. I made a note in my mind that there sure were a lot of squirrels in that woods and would be a good place to have a squirrel hunt. I went back to work at the end of deer season to a job I was tired of doing, I had been doing it for 10 years at that time. I resigned as of January first and took a long week vacation before I started on at my new position January 1st 1996. I took my Rugar 77-22 and headed to the UP deer camp. It was a very cold week there, so cold I couldn’t get the pull start gen set to start so running the furnace wouldn’t work all night. I hooked the truck up to the travel trailer and let it idle a couple hours every night while the furnace ran and disturbed heat thru out and charged the battery enough to run the furnace till about 2:00 AM. At 2:00 AM I would get cold and light the oven on the range and open the door to allow heat.  It got down to a negative 18F the first night and it was the warmest of the 7 days I spent there.  I would get up fix a hot breakfast fill my thermos with hot coffee dress grab the 22 and go fire up the ATV for the ride to the woods I had planed on hunting for the day.  Leave the ATV on the edge and sneak in to a likely looking spot and sit. Usually took about an hour for things to get back to normal and the squirrels would move around. I would hear the ice on the bay expand with a lou