4 replies to this topic

#1 OnYoLeft OFFLINE  

OnYoLeft
  • Member No: 62033
  • 1 Thanks
  • 1 posts

Posted September 09, 2014 - 07:08 PM

Hello All,

I'm new to hydraulic garden tractors. I had a couple Craftsmans in the past and I recently picked up a John Deere 312 in great condition. This was the second lawn cutting and it seems that I either lost hydraulic pressure or fluid. I remember the seller showing me a vinyl sight tube on the rear plate and that fluid hasn't changed. I forgot if that was the hydraulic fluid or the rear end fluid sight tube. Anyway, I was cutting the lawn and doing a little fwd and rev action to get into a tight spot. When I placed it in fwd all the way it was sluggish. Now it will only barely move when I feather it (fwd or rev.) out of neutral. Anything more than that and it doesn't move.

Any thoughts?

Roman

• A.C.T. said thank you

#2 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted September 09, 2014 - 07:20 PM

Welcome to GTTalk Roman. I have a 314 which is very similar. The tube on the back is a site tube for the transmission/rearend fluid level, which is also used for the hydraulic lift. One thing to check is that the transmission bypass valve, which should be right below the front of the seat, is in the operate position. It's possible that it could be partly closed. If that checks out I would have a look at the linkage. It's a real contraption but you should be able to follow it from the lever to the transmission. You can find parts diagrams for the tractor at JDParts.com. Do a model no. search for 312 and then find the 312 garden tractor from the list. 

Another thing to check is the transmission driveshaft and it's couplers. If the coupler at either end of the driveshaft is stripped out the transmission may not be turning at full speed. Good luck. Let us know what you find.