Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Carb /fuel Issue Kohler K301

lgt125kohler k301 carb/ fuel

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,806 Thanks
  • 2,208 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted September 06, 2014 - 05:40 PM

ok I pulled the lgt125 out of the shed now that the 145 sold. put on new starter solenoid , charged battery, and went to fire it up. it ran crappy and wouldn't stay running . I took off carb, cleaned and reassembled. set the screws at 1-1/2 turns drained the tank , put in new fuel line an filter.

Ok here's the issue, I can't get fuel up in the carb. sprayed starting fluid to keep it running thinking carb would prime itself. It's not! took off bowl, nothing, no fuel in bowl. needle is dropping with float but no fuel going up to carb. there is no fuel pump on the 12hp, do I need to pull the fuel line off tank , lift it forcing fuel into carb.  here's a pic of the setup. I ran it the same as what was on there.

post-29432-0-90184800-1410043219.jpeg

Any help would be appreciated  Tom 


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#2 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,806 Thanks
  • 2,208 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted September 06, 2014 - 05:42 PM

could someone rotate the pic please. it was correct before I loaded it



#3 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,518 Thanks
  • 39,735 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted September 06, 2014 - 05:49 PM

Got it fixed, Tom!


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#4 Rock farmer ONLINE  

Rock farmer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,119 Thanks
  • 1,177 posts
  • Location: York Maine

Posted September 06, 2014 - 05:55 PM

Hi Tom!
How much gas did You put in the tank?
You might try adding some more.
I assume you removed the hoses and checked for flow at the verious points?
Sometimes the filter is air locked. If you drain some gas through it into a can, that may do it.

Joe

P.s. congrats on selling the 145!
  • Alc and TomLGT195 have said thanks

#5 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 06, 2014 - 05:55 PM

Does it run without the fuel filter?  What kind of carb is it?  If it is a Walbro I would replace it with a Kohler/Carter 26 and be done with it.  I fought a Walbro on my 120 for 4 months and replaced it with a Carter and have not looked back.


Edited by Trav1s, September 06, 2014 - 05:56 PM.

  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#6 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:09 PM

even though the float moves,check to see if the needle isnt stuck to the seat.


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#7 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,806 Thanks
  • 2,208 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:18 PM

Hi Tom!
How much gas did You put in the tank?
You might try adding some more.
I assume you removed the hoses and checked for flow at the verious points?
Sometimes the filter is air locked. If you drain some gas through it into a can, that may do it.
Joe
P.s. congrats on selling the 145!

About 1/2 -3/4 gal I'll add more
I'll try pulling hose from carb and getting fuel all the way to there.
Yah guy from mass came and got it. Just got his first house that needs a rider to mow. And long driveway to plow in winter.
  • Rock farmer said thank you

#8 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,806 Thanks
  • 2,208 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:18 PM

even though the float moves,check to see if the needle isnt stuck to the seat.


Yes needle dropped when I looked in.
  • Auburn David said thank you

#9 TomLGT195 OFFLINE  

TomLGT195
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 29432
  • 2,806 Thanks
  • 2,208 posts
  • Location: Southern New Hampshire

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:20 PM

Does it run without the fuel filter?  What kind of carb is it?  If it is a Walbro I would replace it with a Kohler/Carter 26 and be done with it.  I fought a Walbro on my 120 for 4 months and replaced it with a Carter and have not looked back.


I'm not sure, didn't see any markings. Can u tell by pic? The carb bowl gasket looked like the one I got from my kohler dealer for my 195's carb.

#10 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:30 PM

I suspect if it isnt the needle and seat it has to be in the fuel line or filter,looks like the carb on my Magnum 18,but it has a pump.


  • TomLGT195 said thank you

#11 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:32 PM

I would think with no pump the tank would need to be above the carb...did it use to run ok with the setup in the picture?



#12 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:36 PM

most of the ones I am seeing online have the tank above the carb.



#13 Rock farmer ONLINE  

Rock farmer
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10759
  • 1,119 Thanks
  • 1,177 posts
  • Location: York Maine

Posted September 06, 2014 - 06:51 PM

I'd say that's not enough gas.
Try two gallons.
That filter may be on backwards? I doubt it, but it can happen!
That carburetor should be a carter. and, it looks like it to me.
I understand Walbro carburetors do not have adjustment needles. But, I could be wrong about that!
Gas tank height is the normal factory setup.

Joe
  • TomLGT195 and Auburn David have said thanks

#14 Auburn David OFFLINE  

Auburn David
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 61865
  • 2,754 Thanks
  • 1,962 posts
  • Location: Alabama

Posted September 06, 2014 - 07:23 PM

I was just guessing ,not familiar at all with this engine or tractor..still learning for the most part,so there is a vacuum in the bowl that draws in the gas?


Edited by Auburn, September 06, 2014 - 07:24 PM.


#15 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,604 Thanks
  • 3,752 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted September 06, 2014 - 07:34 PM

The bowl on the carb is gravity feed from the looks of the pic you posted.  Not sure what brand that carb is but if it is a Walbro there will be "Walbro" stamped in the top side of the carb towards the front of the tractor.  Walbros have two adjustments, Carter/Kohler have 3.  The Walbro I had was lean no matter what I did to rebuild it.






Top