• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Koenig041 OFFLINE  

Koenig041
  • Member No: 61746
  • 0 Thanks
  • 4 posts

Posted August 25, 2014 - 04:11 PM

Hello Everyone, I have been doing research for an older heavy duty tracter and found this very informative forum. Tired of buying lawn tractors every 6 years. Had my fill of craftsman and husqvarnas. I have to mow a little over 3 acres and plow about 2k feet of driveway and paths in the winter. The last Husq was a light duty yth 2554 (hp/cut). When that crapped out (bent pushrod that fell back into crankcase) I found a used Honda 4120 with a 48in. deck. The Honda cuts well but is light duty as well.

I'm going to check out a Jake 53332 gt 16 that comes with a 60 inch deck and rear wheel weights. The tractor does not come with any other options. I'm no mechanic but I have an awesome set of tools. I have no problem taking basic stuff apart and replacing them but have never done an engine tear down. My question is, are there common areas to look for when it comes to wear and tear? Are there any common issues that I should look at, that would make me walk away from buying the tractor. I'm going old school for the pto driven attachments and structural integrity of the older machines. The Kohler k341aqs appears to be a reliable power plant. Is there anything I should check while riding the tractor? Thanks in advance for any assistance you guys can provide.jacobsen gt16 engine2.jpg

jacobsen gt16 engine.jpg

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,522 Thanks
  • 39,742 posts

Posted August 25, 2014 - 05:22 PM

:wave: Welcome to the forum!

From the pics, I would say that is a 53336 or 7 closed side model.

#3 skyrydr2 OFFLINE  

skyrydr2

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,418 Thanks
  • 3,165 posts

Posted August 25, 2014 - 06:53 PM