• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 fogler12538 OFFLINE  

fogler12538
  • Member No: 59557
  • 254 Thanks
  • 158 posts

Posted August 10, 2014 - 01:53 PM

I picked up a Bolens 1886 repowered with the motor from an ht20 (k532) and a mower deck yesterday for not a lot . Got it home and started using it right away on some tall grass in the back yard . Used it for about 3 hours only problem was I had to have the choke out a little other than that it ran great . Got back on it this morning and used it for about half an hour till my neighbor stopped over to see my new toy . When I shut it off it backfired . after a few mins he left and I went back to work only now it started a little hard , seemed louder and stalls out under a load and has trouble going up the slight incline in my yard . Still learning and any help would be great

#2 fogler12538 OFFLINE  

fogler12538
  • 254 Thanks
  • 158 posts

Posted August 10, 2014 - 01:57 PM

I forgot to mention I'm a carpenter of 30 years and am learning mechanics slowly

#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted August 10, 2014 - 04:04 PM

In that situation I would give the engine a good visual inspection to see if there are any signs of oil leaks or a loose spark plug wire etc. I'm wondering if you have an ignition problem and are running on 1 cylinder. 

• HDWildBill, superaben and fogler12538 have said thanks

#4 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts

Posted August 10, 2014 - 04:04 PM

It sounds like the fuel mixture is too lean.  Take off the air filter and air filter mount and you'll see two screws on top of the carburetor.  You might try turning the one closest to the front out a little bit (as in 1/8 turn at a time) and see if you can't make it run better.