22 replies to this topic

#1 BillTheTractorMan OFFLINE  

BillTheTractorMan

Tractorholic

• Member No: 1477
  • 203 Thanks
  • 288 posts

Posted August 07, 2014 - 08:49 PM

I help out at a local heritage festival. This is my first year volunteering. I talked to my grandpa about bringing one of our old tractors to help at the show.

Grandpa asked me if he got a ticket to get in (free admittance) like myself because he's volunteering his tractor.

I asked today and was told no.

Now he's kind of upset and told me I may not be able to bring the tractor. Admittance is $8 for all weekend so its not that much. But he feels its a lot of wear and tear on that tractor to be there. And he's not being compensated for even a little bit of that.

Are we really out of line thinking my grandpa's wrong to ask for admittance ticket for lending his tractor?
  • oldedeeres and toppop52 have said thanks

#2 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

Therapy CAT

• Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,686 Thanks
  • 8,884 posts

Posted August 07, 2014 - 09:15 PM

Not one bit. But if it's a festival, wouldn't there be a half dozen tractors and two dozen trucks there already?
  • GTTinkerer and oldedeeres have said thanks

#3 BillTheTractorMan OFFLINE  

BillTheTractorMan

Tractorholic

• 203 Thanks
  • 288 posts

Posted August 07, 2014 - 10:37 PM

Not one bit. But if it's a festival, wouldn't there be a half dozen tractors and two dozen trucks there already?

There's a lot of tractors there but its very each person brings there tractors just for show, or just to demonstrate there machinery. The "festival" doesn't have any of its own machinery, volunteers are so short that last year demonstrations were cancelled for parts of the day.

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,228 Thanks
  • 28,593 posts

Posted August 07, 2014 - 10:42 PM

Two ways you can solve this.