Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Linear Actuator Question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Bud OFFLINE  

Bud

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 650
  • 341 Thanks
  • 404 posts
  • Location: Montana

Posted August 07, 2014 - 12:34 PM

I have a 1100 lb. linear actuator with 4" stroke. I want to use it to replace the manual lift on my gt. If the movement is less than the 4" would I need a slotted hole to make up the difference to keep from breaking something? I know I need a momentary switch. The only actuator I have used is on my big round baler, and it automaticly returns if it hits something.

#2 tweidman OFFLINE  

tweidman

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5
  • 250 Thanks
  • 797 posts
  • Location: Ackermanville,Pa

Posted August 07, 2014 - 02:43 PM

You could extend the arm that it would attach to, so that the stroke required is increased to 4 inches. Otherwise, if the lift bottoms out on something the actuator will likely break something.

I guess you could hook up some type to saftey/return switch to keep it from going to far, but that might be more work than it's worth?


  • olcowhand and Bud have said thanks

#3 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,237 Thanks
  • 28,598 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted August 07, 2014 - 03:54 PM

Many actuators have physical limit switches in the case. Do some research to see if yours has them and if they are adjustable.
  • Bud said thank you

#4 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,572 Thanks
  • 29,821 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted August 07, 2014 - 05:24 PM

I'd make the arm exactly long enough to use all the stroke with the amount of lift swing you want.  Even then, if it has a load limit switch, I'd set it to prevent overdoing things just in case.


  • Bud said thank you

#5 Bud OFFLINE  

Bud

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 650
  • 341 Thanks
  • 404 posts
  • Location: Montana

Posted August 07, 2014 - 07:11 PM

Thanks everyone. You brought up some things I hadn't thought of. One can always learn something here.


  • MH81 said thank you

#6 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,445 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted August 08, 2014 - 05:34 AM

I think my friend's Gator uses a circuit  breaker as a limit switch ( think power windows in your car )  I wonder if you could use one to control the end stroke  , or it might be built in the unit it self ?


  • Bud said thank you

#7 TAHOE OFFLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,480 Thanks
  • 4,937 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted August 08, 2014 - 07:45 AM

You could always add a small extra bracket for a limit switch. All you need is a small one, then put it in the ground circuit. Once the switch is trip, it breaks the ground circuit and shuts off the actuator.  

Granger and McMaster Carr have tons of them.


  • Bud said thank you

#8 Bud OFFLINE  

Bud

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 650
  • 341 Thanks
  • 404 posts
  • Location: Montana

Posted August 18, 2014 - 04:36 PM

IMGP2053.JPG IMGP2052.JPG IMGP2048.JPG Ok, got it done. The actuator works great. Only trouble was having to file a new half noon key to fit as the shaft is cut for 3/16" and the sleeve keyway is 1/4". I didn't want to drive 60 miles one way to buy the steel so I used what was laying around. I used the existing holes to mount the bracket and left space for mounting attachments on the front later on if I want. Put the rocker switch on the right fender, my hand rests just right there.  Got the 4" matched to the hghesti to lowest lift points. The actuator will ratchet if it reaches the end or powers out. 


  • olcowhand, limebuzz, MH81 and 2 others have said thanks

#9 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,572 Thanks
  • 29,821 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted August 18, 2014 - 04:39 PM

Nice job, and tucks away nicely as well!


  • Bud and Trav1s have said thanks

#10 Sammy OFFLINE  

Sammy
  • Member
  • Member No: 61643
  • 8 Thanks
  • 16 posts
  • Location: Martinstucky,Indiana

Posted September 06, 2014 - 02:27 PM

I have a lin-ac for a power angle of the snowblade on my ATV. It's rated capacity is 500lb.,with a stall rating of 1000lb. Internally,there is a clutch to prevent damage from over extension. Perhaps your lin-ac. has the same provision.In addition,I did position my attachment points at both the maximum and minimum stroke positions........

Although the rating(of mine) sounds low,it will shift left to right with any amount of snow the blade is pushing...regardless of the weight(!).

Attached Thumbnails

  • 100_1628-1.JPG

  • Bud and limebuzz have said thanks




Top