20 replies to this topic

#1 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

Tractorholic

• Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts

Posted August 02, 2014 - 04:00 PM

So I bought a walker mower with 3cyc Kubota diesel cheap, I know it's not a GT, but I wanted it for the grass collection system, a power bagger for the 318 was going to be a pain to find.

Anyway, I've got a weird problem with it. It likes to smoke when it's not under load. Just a light grey smoke, flip the PTO on and goes away. It's like it's over fueling except when under load. Power is not a problem, doesn't seem to be losing anti freeze.

I checked the air filter, doesn't look to bad, but thought I would replace it.

Just don't have any experience with diesels, need some thoughts / ideas.

#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,807 Thanks
  • 7,547 posts

Posted August 02, 2014 - 04:46 PM

I am not very experienced with diesels but I would suspect the injector timing and would also replace the fuel filter. Good Luck, Rick

#3 trowel OFFLINE  

trowel

Summer.

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5127
  • 4,819 Thanks
  • 4,533 posts

Posted August 02, 2014 - 07:11 PM

More then likely the injector nozzle is dirty or air is finding it's way into the fuel system and/or the fuel filter just needs replacing.

Start with replacing the fuel filter first, check the fuel tank to injector pump line for cracks/leaks and run the engine without the air filter attached for a few to see if it continues, if so then you will start at the injectors and work your way back to the pump.

Hope fully this is not a sign of wet staking, describe how the engine starts, the smoke it makes during start up, for how long and how it revs up and down.

Edited by trowel, August 02, 2014 - 07:13 PM.

• Jehtro and superaben have said thanks

#4 trowel OFFLINE  

trowel

Summer.

• -GTt Supporter-
  • 4,819 Thanks
  • 4,533 posts

Posted August 02, 2014 - 08:51 PM