Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo

Throttle And Choke Cable Fix?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 hardek OFFLINE  

hardek

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 3191
  • 3 Thanks
  • 17 posts
  • Location: manitoba,canada

Posted July 19, 2014 - 07:03 PM

I just bought an old MF8 that was left outside for years. The original throttle and choke cables are still there but, they are seized up. They have steel coiled covering that have rusted and stiffened up. I tried soaking them both in a pail of trans oil. It did not do much any suggestion? I thought maybe automatic trans fluid and either kerosene or paint thinner I saw that online as a great penetrating oil. Thank you for the help.


  • propane1 said thank you

#2 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted July 19, 2014 - 07:24 PM

They may be too far gone to ever loosen up. 1/2 trans fluid 1/2 acetone is the recipe I've seen used for DIY penetrating oil. It may take a long time for them to free up when soaked, like a week or more. 


  • Alc, KennyP and propane1 have said thanks

#3 propane1 ONLINE  

propane1
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,112 Thanks
  • 3,205 posts
  • Location: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Posted July 19, 2014 - 07:45 PM

Chain saw gas mix. Noel
  • Alc said thank you

#4 Chopperhed OFFLINE  

Chopperhed
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 20120
  • 1,852 Thanks
  • 1,071 posts
  • Location: Edmonton, Ab, Canada

Posted July 19, 2014 - 07:58 PM

You can buy new cables for cheap at princess auto. For what it's worth, it just easier to replace, at least it was for me



#5 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted July 19, 2014 - 09:20 PM

I am bad about soaking the something like that in acetone.  It usually works them loose.

 

I can also custom make cables any length you like.

 

Ben W.



#6 zippy1 OFFLINE  

zippy1
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 50881
  • 610 Thanks
  • 383 posts
  • Location: WI

Posted July 20, 2014 - 12:53 AM

For the couple dollars new ones would cost, it's money lost trying to save the old ones.


  • Alc said thank you

#7 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,315 Thanks
  • 28,632 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted July 20, 2014 - 06:56 AM

A often when a question like this is asked, the answers are often about keeping the machine original or pure and reusing the cables or finding OEM replacements. Kinda surprising to read that guys just replace them.
For the OEM look, can the handles be transferred and how best to do that?

As for saving the old, coiling them up will make a difference in penetration. About an 7" coil should be good, then put something thin on it. The thinner the better IMHO for a couple of days. After they get broke free, soak it again with kerosene and ATF for a day. Once in a while, work it back and forth and let it soak again. Be amazed how well an old cable can work again. If the inner cable is pitted tho, I agree on replacement. Little is more frustrating than breaking a cable after reassembly.
  • hardek said thank you

#8 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted July 20, 2014 - 08:11 AM

What kind of control heads are on these cables ?

Like Ben mentioned sometimes you can just cut off the old cable and custom cut some cable and your good to go!



#9 ckjakline OFFLINE  

ckjakline

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 6073
  • 1,080 Thanks
  • 1,094 posts
  • Location: Lititz,Pa

Posted July 20, 2014 - 09:23 AM

These cables are still avail through your local massey dealer.They are exactly like the originals with new lever and t knob.I think they're around $20 for the whole assembly.


  • hardek said thank you

#10 hardek OFFLINE  

hardek

    Member

  • Member
  • Member No: 3191
  • 3 Thanks
  • 17 posts
  • Location: manitoba,canada

Posted July 20, 2014 - 04:10 PM

Yes these are the original cables with the t handles. I will try the atf and acetone. thanks guys




Top