Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

1966 Jac 800 Won't Charge


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 VintageIronCollector OFFLINE  

VintageIronCollector

    Immersed in Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 33118
  • 1,267 Thanks
  • 1,768 posts
  • Location: New Freedom, PA

Posted July 07, 2014 - 09:04 AM

Can anyone here take some pictures of a Jacobsen 8hp with push button start? I need some pictures of the wires on the voltage regulator and where they go to. Mine doesn't have one on the bottom one and I'm not sure if thats my problem or not. Thanks in advance



#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,769 Thanks
  • 7,536 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted July 07, 2014 - 10:07 AM

Try our Manuals Section there are alot of Ford/Jacobsen manuals. If its a Kohler engine, a Kohler manual may have the answer. Good Luck, Rick
  • VintageIronCollector said thank you

#3 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,311 Thanks
  • 4,661 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted July 07, 2014 - 01:23 PM

Not that I'm a Jacobson aficionado the charging wire from the regulator will travel to the amp meter if there is one.  In one side and charging wire will travel onward..(An in series connection if you are electrically oriented) 

 

It will leave the other side of the meter and go to the Run side/terminal of the key switch.  It needs to be isolated when the key is off or it will drain the battery.  

 

Hope this helps..


  • boyscout862 and VintageIronCollector have said thanks

#4 Mike125s OFFLINE  

Mike125s
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 52007
  • 43 Thanks
  • 117 posts
  • Location: Genoa,IL

Posted July 08, 2014 - 08:21 AM

Vintage

 

Try this page..  I found it helpful when partially rewiring my 66 Jac Chief 1000

 

http://www.farmallcu...stem Checks.pdf

 

How to test an ammeter

 

http://www.yesterday...ll&th=130765%3E

 

 

Starter/Gen wiring on a cub cadet

 

http://www.ihcubcade...106/169489.html

 

Mike



#5 Mike125s OFFLINE  

Mike125s
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 52007
  • 43 Thanks
  • 117 posts
  • Location: Genoa,IL

Posted July 08, 2014 - 01:42 PM

Vintage

It looks like the bottom connector on my VR goes to the Armature post of the generator. I'm not sure what label is on the bottom tab of my VR.

mike

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg
  • image.jpg

  • VintageIronCollector said thank you

#6 VintageIronCollector OFFLINE  

VintageIronCollector

    Immersed in Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 33118
  • 1,267 Thanks
  • 1,768 posts
  • Location: New Freedom, PA

Posted July 08, 2014 - 03:54 PM

Vintage
It looks like the bottom connector on my VR goes to the Armature post of the generator. I'm not sure what label is on the bottom tab of my VR.
mike

Thanks for the pictures very helpful but could you get a picture that shows the terminals on the VR a little better? Also do you have a wire coming from behind the VR?
  • Mike125s said thank you

#7 Mike125s OFFLINE  

Mike125s
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 52007
  • 43 Thanks
  • 117 posts
  • Location: Genoa,IL

Posted July 08, 2014 - 05:16 PM

Thanks for the pictures very helpful but could you get a picture that shows the terminals on the VR a little better? Also do you have a wire coming from behind the VR?


Vintage

Top of VR is field
Middle post is Batt
Bottom is l(Load??)

Bottom l is not connected to anything. Wire from back is probably the ground wire(G)

Good luck

I went through wire by wire to reconnect the ammeter and make sure the other wires went to the right places. I can't get a pic any closer to the VR

 

Sorry VR pic is upside down.  Had to do that to fit my ipad mini in there
Mike

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpg

Edited by Mike125s, July 08, 2014 - 05:18 PM.

  • VintageIronCollector said thank you

#8 VintageIronCollector OFFLINE  

VintageIronCollector

    Immersed in Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 33118
  • 1,267 Thanks
  • 1,768 posts
  • Location: New Freedom, PA

Posted July 08, 2014 - 06:14 PM

Vintage
Top of VR is field
Middle post is Batt
Bottom is l(Load??)
Bottom l is not connected to anything. Wire from back is probably the ground wire(G)
Good luck
I went through wire by wire to reconnect the ammeter and make sure the other wires went to the right places. I can't get a pic any closer to the VR
 
Sorry VR pic is upside down.  Had to do that to fit my ipad mini in there
Mike


My wiring is not at all like yours. Did you rewire yours?
  • Mike125s said thank you

#9 Mike125s OFFLINE  

Mike125s
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 52007
  • 43 Thanks
  • 117 posts
  • Location: Genoa,IL

Posted July 08, 2014 - 06:30 PM

My wiring is not at all like yours. Did you rewire yours?

Yes I had to rewire mine,as the previous owner had bypassed the ammeter .  I went wire by wire by following various diagrams for tractor starter/generator systems(Like the cub cadet one above).  Mine works well now , charges the battery,and the ammeter works now too

 

Mike



#10 VintageIronCollector OFFLINE  

VintageIronCollector

    Immersed in Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 33118
  • 1,267 Thanks
  • 1,768 posts
  • Location: New Freedom, PA

Posted July 08, 2014 - 06:37 PM

Yes I had to rewire mine,as the previous owner had bypassed the ammeter .  I went wire by wire by following various diagrams for tractor starter/generator systems(Like the cub cadet one above).  Mine works well now , charges the battery,and the ammeter works now too
 
Mike

I might end up rewiring mine like yours but I'll look over mine again.
  • Mike125s said thank you

#11 Mike125s OFFLINE  

Mike125s
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 52007
  • 43 Thanks
  • 117 posts
  • Location: Genoa,IL

Posted July 08, 2014 - 06:55 PM

By the way, L(Load) terminal on the voltage regulator is for lights(I think)

 

Mike


  • VintageIronCollector said thank you

#12 VintageIronCollector OFFLINE  

VintageIronCollector

    Immersed in Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 33118
  • 1,267 Thanks
  • 1,768 posts
  • Location: New Freedom, PA

Posted July 09, 2014 - 09:56 AM

I'm going to check over mine to make sure that mine works but the VR or the ammeter is the problem.
  • Mike125s said thank you

#13 VintageIronCollector OFFLINE  

VintageIronCollector

    Immersed in Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 33118
  • 1,267 Thanks
  • 1,768 posts
  • Location: New Freedom, PA

Posted July 09, 2014 - 06:34 PM

http://www.amazon.co...#productDetails

Would this work on my 800?


  • Mike125s said thank you

#14 Mike125s OFFLINE  

Mike125s
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 52007
  • 43 Thanks
  • 117 posts
  • Location: Genoa,IL

Posted July 10, 2014 - 05:57 AM

I don't know. How did you determine the VR is bad

#15 VintageIronCollector OFFLINE  

VintageIronCollector

    Immersed in Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 33118
  • 1,267 Thanks
  • 1,768 posts
  • Location: New Freedom, PA

Posted July 10, 2014 - 06:31 AM

I don't know. How did you determine the VR is bad


The internal connections are corroded and terminals are rusty. I want to get a new to make sure its reliable.
  • Mike125s said thank you




Top