Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Got A Battery Backup


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,645 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 30, 2014 - 10:23 AM

Been slow getting this, but finally got a battery backup system for my computer & my TV box so when the electric blinks, everything keeps right on it's merry way.  I figure the short glitches in the grid is part of my computer problems over time.  Now things should go smoother. 

 

It's an APC 800

 

 DSC00206.JPG


  • Texas Deere and Horse, KennyP, Newpaws493 and 1 other said thanks

#2 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,455 Thanks
  • 6,623 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted June 30, 2014 - 10:36 AM

Is that like a storage battery inverter kind of thing ?



#3 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,645 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 30, 2014 - 10:39 AM

Is that like a storage battery inverter kind of thing ?

 

Exactly.  Has 6 backup power AC plugs on the back, and 3 more surge protected only AC outlets.  


  • Alc and KennyP have said thanks

#4 HowardsMF155 ONLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted June 30, 2014 - 12:01 PM

That is most certainly a needed accessory for any type of desktop computer.  Windows doesn't like to be interrupted without notification!  


  • KennyP and HDWildBill have said thanks

#5 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,645 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 30, 2014 - 01:01 PM

Just got everything hooked to the backup system and ran a self-test....all is great!  Battery run time is estimated at 36 minutes running the PC, monitor, TV box, and modems.  The software safely shuts down my computer if battery gets so low, or I can set it to shut down after X minutes on battery power.  If computer is shut down, then the TV box & other items stay under battery power till she's drained.


  • KennyP said thank you

#6 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted June 30, 2014 - 03:36 PM

Worth it's cost in saved grief and time trying to recover from power glitches or outages. Every instrument in our lab, big or small, has one of those on it. The building has a 500kw diesel backup but it takes 10seconds or so to come on. That one is a generous size for your setup which is why you have got a nice long 36 minutes backup time. Batteries should last 4- 5 years on average. 


  • olcowhand, KennyP, HDWildBill and 1 other said thanks

#7 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted June 30, 2014 - 04:02 PM

How much was that bad boy?  My swap to SSD drives has reduced the problems but power outages still hurt hardware.



#8 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,297 Thanks
  • 28,626 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 30, 2014 - 05:16 PM

Nice not to worry about the little bumps in the grid.

Just stay under the listed 540 wattage rating with your stuff. The batteries will cook if you are over. We had some 300w units at work running about 375w worth of stuff due to the person hooking them up thinking the VA rating = Watts... It doesn't, they lasted just over a year. Batteries all swollen and the juices cooked out of them.
  • HDWildBill and TomLGT195 have said thanks

#9 HDWildBill ONLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted June 30, 2014 - 06:30 PM

You will definitely love having the ups on your grid.  As you said it smooths out the grid with the hiccups but also with brown outs which are worse on the hardware the loosing power.  I can't imagine not having mine on the grid. 



#10 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,645 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 30, 2014 - 08:11 PM

How much was that bad boy?  My swap to SSD drives has reduced the problems but power outages still hurt hardware.

 

Just $64.99 DELIVERED!  Now these were a special build, so the phone & data ports don't offer protection, but that's ok with me for this price.  HERE's a link.



#11 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,645 Thanks
  • 29,840 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted June 30, 2014 - 08:16 PM

Nice not to worry about the little bumps in the grid.

Just stay under the listed 540 wattage rating with your stuff. The batteries will cook if you are over. We had some 300w units at work running about 375w worth of stuff due to the person hooking them up thinking the VA rating = Watts... It doesn't, they lasted just over a year. Batteries all swollen and the juices cooked out of them.

 

 

This one has alarms that go off if you overload it.  I'm only using 113 watts of the available 540, so I'm good.


  • MH81 said thank you

#12 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,603 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted July 01, 2014 - 07:30 AM

That is a great deal!  Might have to put my cable modem and router on that.






Top