• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ah1988 OFFLINE  

ah1988
  • Member No: 59365
  • 5 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted June 25, 2014 - 05:33 PM

I previously owned a muarry 13.5hp manual trans. mower before it burnt up due to the carb flooding the crankcase with gas. I went out and purchased this JD hydro 175 with the 14hp Kawasaki engine, I bought it because it was hydro and I have a lot of trees and obstacles on my property so I thought it would be less effort to maneuver. I was really disappointed with the hydro trans it felt really weak compared to the manual, until I decided to hook up my boat trailer to it. My old mower would not budge the trailer but the new JD moves it fairly easily, it weights around 1200 lbs and has a tongue weight of about 300lbs.. My question is will I hurt the JD moving this trailer around my yard? Am I going to shred the trans ? Is my JD 175 hydro considered a lawn tractor or garden tractor? I am new to this hydro trans and I don’t want to screw the mower up moving the boat trailer. I have a fairly small back yard and moving the trailer around with my ext. cab dually can be tricky. So if I can safely do it with the JD it will make life much easier for me.

• tinbender7 and Gabriel have said thanks

#2 tinbender7 OFFLINE  

tinbender7

FORDoholic

• Member No: 5171
  • 1,113 Thanks
  • 784 posts

Posted June 25, 2014 - 07:44 PM

welcome to the forum. I have a JD 165 and I enjoy using it. They are considered a lawn tractor. I have never tried to pull anything with it as I have 4 garden tractors that I use for any heavy pulling. What part of Fla are you in.

• Gabriel and ah1988 have said thanks

#3 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

Therapy CAT

• Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 11,696 Thanks
  • 8,890 posts

Posted June 25, 2014 - 07:47 PM

If it pulls it, the hydro will be fine if done for short distances. Heat is the cause of most hydro failures. If the area is flat, you should be fine. Just take it slow.