Dead Short?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 threehole700 OFFLINE  

• Member No: 59362
  • 3 Thanks
  • 2 posts

Posted June 25, 2014 - 04:01 PM

Hey all, newbie here. I have a problem with my old Johnny and I am hoping to find some help. 1989 185 lawn tractor with the 17 hp Kawasaki. Something is drawing the battery so dead the pto will shut off while mowing and then shortly after the engine will die. Hook it up to the truck with jumper cables and it takes right off and the pto will engage the deck and it will mow for 10-15 minutes before dieing again. Could it be the pto itself or possibly a voltage regulator or maybe the starter? I'm more of a nuts and bolts guy and kind of a dummy when it comes to electrical testers, ohms meters and the like. Anyone ever experienced this?

#2 DougT OFFLINE  

Dog Approved

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 584
  • 5,521 Thanks
  • 4,177 posts

Posted June 25, 2014 - 04:17 PM

Welcome to the forum. I'm not familiar with the tractor in question but I'd put my money on the charging system not working. You should have somewhere in the area of 14v at the battery with it running. Think more along the lines of regulator or stator. Hopefully some of the JD guys will be along to give you better testing advice.

• Trav1s and WNYTractorTinkerer have said thanks

#3 threehole700 OFFLINE  

• Member No: 59362
  • 3 Thanks
  • 2 posts

Posted June 25, 2014 - 04:58 PM