• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 2broke2ride OFFLINE  

2broke2ride
  • Member No: 58083
  • 38 Thanks
  • 36 posts

Posted June 11, 2014 - 09:25 PM

Ok, her goes......... My grandfather bought this YT16 brand new a year or so before he died, I want to say it's around an 86. It has the briggs opposed twin 16hp and 48" deck. I mowed a lot of lawn with this mower as a teenager growng up and remember it running really well and cutting good. Fastforward to today, I'm 33 years old and my father still mows his lawn with this same mower but he complains that it lacks power. My question is, is there a quick and dirty adjustment for the governer? I'm an auto mechanic and to my ear it just doesn't sound like it's reving out like it should. (I don't have a tach to verify) you get in thick grass and it will lug the engine right down, you end up having to mow in 1st or 2nd. (I remember as a kid mowing in 3rd and 4th and not having any trouble) As a side note, I rebuilt the carb two years ago with no improvement. also put a new coil on it for a different problem and just this year replaced all the belts and deck bearings and dad sharpens the blades at least yearly or as needed (he has to keep them sharp or it really doesnt cut well). It runs well and on both cylinders, it uses no oil to speak of it just seems to really be lacking power.Any help is appreciated.

Edited by 2broke2ride, June 11, 2014 - 09:28 PM.

• A.C.T. said thank you

#2 boyscout862 OFFLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,803 Thanks
  • 7,543 posts

Posted June 12, 2014 - 06:50 AM