Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Pop Ups


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 04:24 PM

Is it just me or are others getting a rash of pop ups here?  I have checked several other web sites and this is the only one I am getting them on.



#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,317 Thanks
  • 28,635 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 09, 2014 - 04:31 PM

Bill, none here. Can you take a screen shot?
Also, what browser do you have, it almost sounds like a BHO.

#3 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 04:48 PM

I am using Firefox.  OK what is a BHO.  The ads started popping up on Craigslist and Facebook also so apparently it is just my computer.  This was just the first place I found them but when I checked the other two they were there also.

 

There was an opt out bar on the button of the ads and after I used it the ads went away, hopefully for good.  The volume on the computer was at max and when the ad popped up it was very loud.



#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,317 Thanks
  • 28,635 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 09, 2014 - 05:01 PM

Sorry, Browser Helper Object.
Basically a leech on your browser that sucks up resources and regurgitates garbage like popups and redirects. Normally comes in on free downloads of software.

I would check to see what add-ons are running on the computer, run a good scan like ccleaner or superantispyware.

There is a company called security xploded that has a BHO remover I use sometimes, takes some of the guesswork out.

#5 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,317 Thanks
  • 28,635 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 09, 2014 - 05:05 PM

Ccleaner free: http://www.piriform....wnload/standard
Superantispyware free: http://www.superanti...ANTISPYWAREFREE
BHO remover free: http://securityxplod...emover_Download

I would run the last one and the first one if I were doing it. Then run the middle one later.

#6 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 05:21 PM

I down loaded and am running malware bytes now.  Damn it a pop up just popped up



#7 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 05:24 PM

OK I'll run them as soon as the malware bytes finishes up

Thanks,



#8 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 05:32 PM

Here a screen shot.  The popup is in the bottom right corner.  It will sometimes fill most of the open space on the left and right side of the page.

Attached Thumbnails

  • POP up.jpg

Edited by GTTinkerer, June 09, 2014 - 05:33 PM.

  • MH81 said thank you

#9 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 06:02 PM

The top one found 702 errors.  "Fixed" 15 for free and wants $29.95 to "fix" the rest.



#10 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,317 Thanks
  • 28,635 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 09, 2014 - 06:05 PM

The top one found 702 errors. "Fixed" 15 for free and wants $29.95 to "fix" the rest.

That screams redirecter. You've got a bug.
The link was direct to the piriform website' they do not do ransomeware.

Don't do the $, let me see if I can find the one I used the last time Dad got himself into trouble.

#11 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 06:09 PM

Thanks



#12 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,317 Thanks
  • 28,635 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 09, 2014 - 06:15 PM

I found it, but I want to wait. It's for more infected systems than yours and runs at command prompt.

If you have access to another computerized would download this program and save it on to a USB drive. Then run it on the infected computer.
http://www.piriform....wnload/portable

Just in case I'm offline and you want to get very aggressive with it (caution: viper will wipe out infected files. If there are needed files with infections, this could cause "issues")
http://www.vipreanti...live/Download2/
This program is designed to run as a portable (from USB) program. Read more here http://www.vipreantivirus.com/live/

#13 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 06:37 PM

Getting worse by the minute.

Attached Thumbnails

  • screen shot 2.jpg
  • screen shot 3.jpg


#14 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted June 09, 2014 - 06:42 PM

Now is is changing the entire page.  Sh oo t

Attached Thumbnails

  • screen shot 4.jpg


#15 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,317 Thanks
  • 28,635 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted June 09, 2014 - 06:45 PM

Shut it down until you can get another computer involved to download some portable antimalware, spyware, etc. and put it on a USB.

I would also nuke that version of browser and download another one for now.

What antivirus have you been running?




Top