• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Gryphon OFFLINE  

Gryphon
  • Member No: 57105
  • 12 Thanks
  • 21 posts

Posted May 20, 2014 - 07:40 PM

So about a week ago I obtained what I now know to be a 1968 MTD 148-760 garden tractor, with a briggs and stratton 10hp engine. Now this is my FIRST project like this so bear with me. Ask me questions. Provide creative critics, suggestions and others. All input is welcome.

First thought was to simply clean the carburetor, put in some fresh gas& oil, new battery and see if she would run. -SCRATCH THAT-

Took the carb off to clean and it was caked about 1/4in thick with dirt &crud. Tearing apart the carb found a spiders nest on the choke plate and dirt clear up into the intake tube. Also looks like its inside the combustion chamber, so I am gonna tear it completely down for a rebuild. This will take a bit as I haven't rebuilt a lawnmower engine since shop in high school some 18yrs ago.

Here are some pics of what i am working with.

DSCF2746.JPG DSCF2747.JPG DSCF2748.JPG DSCF2749.JPG DSCF2750.JPG DSCF2751.JPG DSCF2752.JPG DSCF2753.JPG DSCF2754.JPG DSCF2766.JPG

• hamman, boyscout862 and Sawdust have said thanks

#2 hamman ONLINE  

hamman

Homelite Owner Extraordinaire

• Contributor
  • Member No: 1733
  • 5,625 Thanks
  • 2,577 posts

Posted May 20, 2014 - 07:43 PM

Looks like a good project. Looking froward to your progress.     Good Luck.                                                                  Roger.

#3 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 20, 2014 - 07:51 PM

Looks like she's been sitting for sometime. Mostly complete to. Have fun fixing it up.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I437P using Tapatalk

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted May 21, 2014 - 05:31 AM