Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Neat Little trick for converting F to C temp


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#16 massey driver OFFLINE  

massey driver

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 75
  • 1,073 Thanks
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location: Mainitoba Canada

Posted January 23, 2011 - 09:17 PM

I just tried with chrome, ie, firefox and opera and I can't get it to work. This is going to bug me till I figure out why LOL


That got me bugged now as well.Did your test and this is what I got 18 f = 7.7778 c 5c= 41f 200f= 93.333c I didn't add anything in my computer except for auto updates wish I could tell you why mine does it. And it does it fast.I looked in google and typed in temp conversion from f to c and some stuff comes up as to what to do to get the conversion to work hope this helps sorry to have gotten you bugged by this George. Larry

#17 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted January 23, 2011 - 09:21 PM

That got me bugged now as well.Did your test and this is what I got 18 f = 7.7778 c 5c= 41f 200f= 93.333c I didn't add anything in my computer except for auto updates wish I could tell you why mine does it. And it does it fast.I looked in google and typed in temp conversion from f to c and some stuff comes up as to what to do to get the conversion to work hope this helps sorry to have gotten you bugged by this George. Larry


LOL, it's alright Larry. It doesn't have me bugged in a bad way. More like intrigued. :D

#18 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted January 24, 2011 - 05:36 AM

It doesn't have me bugged in a bad way. More like intrigued. :D


Yeah,me too.

#19 massey driver OFFLINE  

massey driver

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 75
  • 1,073 Thanks
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location: Mainitoba Canada

Posted January 24, 2011 - 08:12 AM

You know what the funny part of it is that it's not just my computer.I asked My Grandson last night after seeing all the replies that no one else can get this to work. I asked him how he figured this out.He then told me that all the computers at school do this.He then said it's a PITA because when your looking on Kijiji at Dirt Bikes if you happen to put the cursor on top of the 125 cc or 350 cc dirt bike/quad it Automatically converts it to Farenheight. I guess like he says its kinda a pain. At school he use's regular google[Canada] as his home page as well.I don't what else to say as I figured it worked on everything.I'am far from being a computer wizard so I can't give you guys any advice on how to figure it out.LOL Larry

#20 massey driver OFFLINE  

massey driver

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 75
  • 1,073 Thanks
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location: Mainitoba Canada

Posted January 24, 2011 - 08:19 AM

I did pay a bit more attention to when I put my cursor over the temp.What happens is that a box comes up with the conversion temp in it but also on the very top right hand corner underlined is the word disable so must be something that has to be turned on in order for this to work. Larry

#21 massey driver OFFLINE  

massey driver

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 75
  • 1,073 Thanks
  • 1,444 posts
  • Location: Mainitoba Canada

Posted January 24, 2011 - 08:52 AM

Well now I'll throw something else at you's. My Grandson just showed me something else about this conversion.by doing the same thing putting the cursor over top of say lbs or kgs it'll covert it either way same as meters, centimeters, inches, feet etc; it converts them as well.I asked him to see if he can get one of his teachers at school to let him know how to enable this feature and I'll let you's know what the answer is.Let's hope he comes home with a answer. Larry

#22 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted January 24, 2011 - 09:56 AM

That would/could be a very handy feature Larry,hope your grandson does come home with the answer to this problem.

#23 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted January 24, 2011 - 12:03 PM

Yeah, I'm very curoius to see why this feature is not working for us. I hope your Grandson has an answer

#24 -DC- ONLINE  

-DC-

    Bigfoot is REAL

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 37
  • 33 Thanks
  • 31 posts
  • Location: New Hampshire Seacoast

Posted January 24, 2011 - 12:10 PM

This is a feature of the Google Toolbar. I just installed it on one of my XP systems here running Firefox, enabled the advanced features and got it working. :wave:

#25 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted January 24, 2011 - 12:24 PM

So ... If you dont have XP then it wont work?

#26 -DC- ONLINE  

-DC-

    Bigfoot is REAL

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 37
  • 33 Thanks
  • 31 posts
  • Location: New Hampshire Seacoast

Posted January 24, 2011 - 12:31 PM

So ... If you dont have XP then it wont work?


I'm pretty sure it isn't Operating System specific. If you're able to install the Google Toolbar for whatever browser you're using it should work.
  • Bolens 1000, mjodrey, caseguy and 1 other said thanks

#27 Bolens 1000 OFFLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,684 Thanks
  • 17,204 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted January 24, 2011 - 12:34 PM

Thanks for answering the question for those of us who are somewhat computer challenged. :D LOL

#28 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted January 24, 2011 - 12:49 PM

And in my case,ALOT challenged.LOL




Top