Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

990 Full Throttle Adjustment?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Bunker Buster OFFLINE  

Bunker Buster
  • Member
  • Member No: 45149
  • 56 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Blue Ridge, TX

Posted May 14, 2014 - 08:13 AM

I have an issue that just recently started and is becoming more noticeable. I set the throttle to wide open and as I get moving, it will drop to roughly 3/4, the lever physically drops as well as the rpms. When I'm mowing the thick stuff, I find myself having to continually raise the throttle or just holding it at full. When I first started using the 990, this wasn't happening. I tried various positions of the cable clamp down at the block, but it didn't make any real difference. Is there an adjustment or other clamp that might have an impact? A week governor spring with the linkage? I had not made any changes or done anything recently to the machine other than work it. Thanks in advance. :thumbs:  



#2 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted May 14, 2014 - 09:41 AM

As you are using the throttle, it is getting freed up in the dash. There should be a nut on the handle to tighten up in the dash.


  • Bunker Buster said thank you

#3 Bunker Buster OFFLINE  

Bunker Buster
  • Member
  • Member No: 45149
  • 56 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Blue Ridge, TX

Posted May 14, 2014 - 10:01 AM

As you are using the throttle, it is getting freed up in the dash. There should be a nut on the handle to tighten up in the dash.

 

Cool thanks.  I'll check that out this evening.  I figured it would be something simple.  Sometimes I can't see the forest for the trees. haha


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#4 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 14, 2014 - 12:04 PM

Mine is doing the same thing.  There is no nut the throttle is pressed together.

 

http://gardentractor...tions/?p=453194


  • Texas Deere and Horse and Bunker Buster have said thanks

#5 Lance Skene OFFLINE  

Lance Skene
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 50665
  • 487 Thanks
  • 337 posts
  • Location: Calgary Alberta

Posted May 14, 2014 - 01:25 PM

If its held together with a rivet you can drill it out and replace it with a bolt, self locking nut and a fiber washer, thats how mine is, maybe done by the PO because I didnt do it.


  • Texas Deere and Horse, BairleaFarm and Bunker Buster have said thanks

#6 BairleaFarm OFFLINE  

BairleaFarm

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8328
  • 1,201 Thanks
  • 1,725 posts

Posted May 14, 2014 - 04:02 PM

Good idea

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I437P using Tapatalk

#7 Bunker Buster OFFLINE  

Bunker Buster
  • Member
  • Member No: 45149
  • 56 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Blue Ridge, TX

Posted May 14, 2014 - 10:57 PM

The throttle lever is the issue. I need to drill out the rivet and replace it with a nut and bolt. I should be able to get to it tomorrow sometime. Thanks!
  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#8 Bunker Buster OFFLINE  

Bunker Buster
  • Member
  • Member No: 45149
  • 56 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Blue Ridge, TX

Posted May 15, 2014 - 12:27 PM

I drilled out the rivet and replaced with a 1/4 button head.  I am out of nyloc nuts, so I used some red loc-tite gel.  It seems to have done the trick.  I have work to do with it this evening, so we'll see and I'll report back.


Edited by Bunker Buster, May 15, 2014 - 12:28 PM.

  • Texas Deere and Horse and VTXrider have said thanks

#9 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted May 15, 2014 - 01:18 PM

Glad to hear you have it fixed. Should work a lot better now and you can adjust it if need be.



#10 Bunker Buster OFFLINE  

Bunker Buster
  • Member
  • Member No: 45149
  • 56 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Blue Ridge, TX

Posted May 15, 2014 - 01:46 PM

Yes, it should be much better.  Having to hold it at full throttle sure was getting old.  The next thing on the list is to sharpen the blades then I need to get off my tail and build the three point arms and linkage.  I have way too many projects going at once. :give_me_beer:



#11 VTXrider OFFLINE  

VTXrider
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 16031
  • 463 Thanks
  • 332 posts
  • Location: West Michigan

Posted May 15, 2014 - 03:11 PM

Love to see pictures of your unit. Sounds like your putting the old girl to work.



#12 Bunker Buster OFFLINE  

Bunker Buster
  • Member
  • Member No: 45149
  • 56 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Blue Ridge, TX

Posted May 15, 2014 - 03:58 PM

Love to see pictures of your unit. Sounds like your putting the old girl to work.

Here's the link to the thread on my 990.  There's a handful of pictures in it.  She's still in her work clothes and will be for quite some time.

http://gardentractor...-to-me-mtd-990/


  • VTXrider said thank you

#13 Bunker Buster OFFLINE  

Bunker Buster
  • Member
  • Member No: 45149
  • 56 Thanks
  • 36 posts
  • Location: Blue Ridge, TX

Posted May 15, 2014 - 09:52 PM

I still need to make some minor adjustments but it's working great again. I mowed about four acres this evening and didn't have to keep my hand on the throttle which left a free hand for a frosty beverage.

Edited by Bunker Buster, May 15, 2014 - 09:52 PM.

  • Texas Deere and Horse and VTXrider have said thanks

#14 glgrumpy ONLINE  

glgrumpy

    Getting Out!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 8360
  • 6,659 Thanks
  • 6,470 posts
  • Location: Huntington, IN 46750 North East in State

Posted May 21, 2014 - 02:19 PM

There is a fella making those hitch parts and darn nice. I got some pull links (from rockshaft back to main arms) and are just like orig only Better.  He makes all the parts or can sell whole unit. VTX gave me the link. Maybe he can offer it here too? I don't seem to have kept the info. It's also on the MTF  MTD forums if you check there.


  • VTXrider and Bunker Buster have said thanks

#15 VTXrider OFFLINE  

VTXrider
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 16031
  • 463 Thanks
  • 332 posts
  • Location: West Michigan

Posted May 21, 2014 - 06:16 PM

Good repair on the throttle BB, thanks for sharing, it will help others when their's explodes.

Reference to frosty beverage  :thumbs:

 

Dan is the owner of On-Point Welding and Fabrication and you can see some of his work on FaceBook or at his web site. The 990 hitch is pictured down the page at each site. He will sell parts or the complete hitch which includes all the hardware like a factory unit. 

 

Blacksmithman posted detailed drawings of the hitch also if you want to make your own. 

http://www.mytractor...5586&highlight=

 

I bought a complete hitch and am happy with the quality. Tell him Chuck Longfellow referred  (he will probably just laugh). Here is a link to my post at MTF.

http://www.mytractor...ght=point hitch

 

His links:

https://www.facebook...181356362002531

 

http://www.onpointwe...ng/Welcome.html


Edited by VTXrider, May 21, 2014 - 06:45 PM.

  • Sawdust and Bunker Buster have said thanks




Top