21 replies to this topic

#1 my69pony OFFLINE  

my69pony
  • Member No: 56943
  • 19 Thanks
  • 7 posts

Posted May 09, 2014 - 11:32 AM

Hi All,

I am new to the Web Site and also new to the Garden Tractor community. I will likely have several projects in the future, but I'm starting with a MF 24S that was purchased new by my Grandfather as his first rider. I'm not sure of the year, but my Dad seems to think it was somewhere in the mid '60s. Any way, my Dad took possession of the 24 in the mid '80s and it has set around doing nothing since. I finally convinced him to restore it and hope to have everything done buy our big family reunion in July. I have attached a few picture of what I have to start with and have made contact with iamsherwood (Will) who has already restored a 24 of his own. I'm sure I will have a few questions along the way and Will has assured me that the gardentractortalk is a great place to get the needed information. I already know my first hurdle will be finding parts, with a Input Gear and Shaft Assembly and Transmission Drive Pulley being the first priorities. 

Here's hoping all goes well with this restoration with more to follow.

Brian

Attached Thumbnails

• DSC_0020.JPG
  • DSC_0032.JPG
  • DSC_0044.JPG
  • DSC_0051.JPG

• DH1, IamSherwood, Littledeere and 3 others have said thanks

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,313 Thanks
  • 28,632 posts

Posted May 09, 2014 - 11:36 AM

:welcome: to GTTalk,
Nice looking 24 you have there, thanks for joining and introducing yourself

#3 HANKG OFFLINE  

HANKG
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 29484
  • 4,892 Thanks
  • 2,795 posts

Posted May 09, 2014 - 11:45 AM

WELCOME ABOARD NICE GT

#4 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,803 Thanks
  • 7,543 posts

Posted May 09, 2014 - 12:19 PM

Welcome to GTT. Check out our Manuals Section for info. Good Luck, Rick