Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Checking Out My First Tractor Today (Case 444)

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 cmn135 ONLINE  

cmn135
  • Member No: 56682
  • 34 Thanks
  • 54 posts

Posted May 05, 2014 - 12:22 PM

Hello Everyone,

i've never owned a tractor but have played around with a few Kubota's..and never a garden tractor.  I'm not new to tinkering with motors as I do my own maintenance on my cars. I found a Case 444 nearby in CT. The serial number is 9651989 (I think that makes it a 1970/71). It looks in pretty good shape and comes with the 48" snowcaster and mower deck. It runs but needs a new battery, he said he can jump it for me and show me how it all works. He's asking $1,200 and i've got him down to $1k and plan on going to see it today.

Based on the pics below and the fact that i'm a tractor noob (go easy on me) is there anything to look out for in my test drive and do you think it's a fair deal? Based on what i've read on this forum so far the price seems a little high but relatively speaking I can't find much in this price range anywhere near me. I'm excited to get into my first tractor and would like to restore it over time.  Thanks!

01010_5oTgRsg6cL6_600x450_zps4f567664.jp

00s0s_5LbDMKn4BTA_600x450_zpscf751086.jp

00Q0Q_eilVxIWrrjw_600x450_zpsdcd1d14f.jp

00a0a_digt5R9dMjt_600x450_zps68d38489.jp

00G0G_3iB79ziSvKC_600x450_zps9a84d7d1.jp

unnamed_zpsb062ab16.jpg

image2_zps6af4287d.jpeg

image1_zps94d83711.jpegimage2_zps6af4287d.jpegimage3_zpsc08b61b4.jpeg

Edited by cmn135, May 05, 2014 - 12:59 PM.

• Texas Deere and Horse, sacsr, bowtiebutler956 and 1 other said thanks

#2 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts

Posted May 05, 2014 - 12:30 PM

cmn135, Welcome to GTtalk!! :wave: