Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Hard drive died


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Meangreen OFFLINE  

Meangreen

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 31
  • 94 Thanks
  • 300 posts

Posted January 21, 2011 - 08:35 PM

The hard drive quit on one of my computers. Bought a new one and reloaded XP on it and it when smooth but it got named it H: Could not rename it C: because it H is was now the boot drive, so I got the bright ideal to partition it and name one C ( 320G hard drive, 120 on H and 200 on C ) and reformat H (XP gone now). Now for the problem, when I tried to load XP the first time something went wrong :mad2: So I tried it again and it loaded fine on to but would not boot. I'm thinking it put something on the H that its trying to boot off of so I tried reformat H but now I can't get to H on the hard drive- It does not show up on the drive. :wallbanging:
How do I wipe the entire drive??

#2 Meangreen OFFLINE  

Meangreen

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 31
  • 94 Thanks
  • 300 posts

Posted January 22, 2011 - 07:24 AM

I kinda rambled earlier, anybody know how format the entire 320g HD ? The partition I made seems to be hidden.

#3 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted January 22, 2011 - 08:06 AM

I did a google on this and found some "Wiping" programs. They all do what you want, but require an OS in place. Let me look a little

#4 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted January 22, 2011 - 08:10 AM

Do you have a floppy drive? If so, you can go online & find a copy of "fdisk" online, but from what I remember, it requires a floppy to run it...

The last time I had a computer do something like this , I used my old win98 startup stuff & did a complete delete & reformat of the hard drive and them installed XP. I'm sure there are easier ways, but I don't know them,

Someone smarter than me: Isn't there a way to do some of this from BIOS?

Edited by MH81, January 22, 2011 - 08:22 AM.


#5 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted January 22, 2011 - 08:46 AM

Did you pull your old hard drive out of the system?

Are you using a full version of XP or is it a recovery disc from the computer manufacturer? There is a big difference here as the recovery cd sometimes only works with the original hard drive because of the i386 folder that is installed from the factory.

If you have a full XP cd, when you boot from cd you will come to a menu for deleting and formatting partitions. It has been a while since I installed XP, but if the new hard drive is the only drive in the machine, you need to delete all of the partitions that are on the drive and create new ones. Then you can choose a quick format. Use the NTFS file system as it is more secure.

#6 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted January 22, 2011 - 08:50 AM

Here is a link to Microsofts tech article on installing XP:
How to install or upgrade to Windows XP

Here is a link showing creating partitions on XP setup. You will need to delete any partitions that you had already created.
Partitioning A Blank Hard Drive During XP Installation

#7 Meangreen OFFLINE  

Meangreen

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 31
  • 94 Thanks
  • 300 posts

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:04 AM

Thanks guys,I did pull the HD out and have it hooked up to my laptop as a external drive. Went to western digital support site and it was helpful. It helped me find the partition and format it. Still would not boot so I'm formatting C again and gonna try loading XP again. Site said something about a boot.ini file that may be corrupt. Been fighting that computer for about 2 weeks now.

#8 Meangreen OFFLINE  

Meangreen

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 31
  • 94 Thanks
  • 300 posts

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:11 AM

Here is a link to Microsofts tech article on installing XP:
How to install or upgrade to Windows XP

Here is a link showing creating partitions on XP setup. You will need to delete any partitions that you had already created.
Partitioning A Blank Hard Drive During XP Installation


Thanks for the links. When the HD was new it let the XP disc drive, now it looks at the HD first and I get this message---- Windows could not start because of a computer disk hardware configuration problem.

Could not read from the selected boot disk. Check boot path and disk hardware.

Please check the Windows documentation about hardware disk configuration and your hardware reference manuals for additional information.

#9 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:15 AM

should be able to change boot order in BIOS, it seems every computer is different, but shortly after power-up, you should be able to get into it by pressing f? or by standing on one leg, or something like that. It'll tell you, but just for a second or two.

#10 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:24 AM

Yes Alan is right, you need to change the boot order of the system in the bios. It needs to be CD > HDD

Sounds like it is set at HDD > CD and since it sees an operating system on the hard drive it goes with it which since the boot partition of the hard drive is corrupted it gives the error message you are seeing.

If you want send me a pm with your phone number and I can call ya.

#11 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,612 Thanks
  • 29,834 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:32 AM

Thanks for helping my BIL out. It is beyond what I'm comfortable attempting, as I get nervous looking into BIOS. My very 1st computer in 91.....I thought I'd speed it up by dropping the fax spooler which took forever to boot with it, so I went into DOS & took out the spooler. I totally screwed the computer & it didn't come with a master disk. Had to wait 2 weeks for the disk in the mail. Not sure what Fred did, but he sure has been pulling his hair out. He's completely bald now! LOL

#12 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:34 AM

He's completely bald now! LOL


Nothing that new GTtalk hat won't fix :bigrofl:

#13 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,271 Thanks
  • 28,609 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:37 AM

Nothing that new GTtalk hat won't fix :bigrofl:


OMG, He's in the "Hat Club for Men"???

#14 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted January 22, 2011 - 09:40 AM

OMG, He's in the "Hat Club for Men"???


Uh oh, I sense a new infomercial at 3:00am in the mornings. Alan will be our new sales guy :D

#15 Meangreen OFFLINE  

Meangreen

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 31
  • 94 Thanks
  • 300 posts

Posted January 22, 2011 - 06:34 PM

:worshippy2: GEORGE SAVED THE DAY!

Computer is now up and running and I'm in the process of getting my software back on it.

Still no sound :confuse:




Top