8 replies to this topic

#1 loustar OFFLINE  

loustar
  • Member No: 56568
  • 3 Thanks
  • 2 posts

Posted May 02, 2014 - 05:41 PM

Hi

I'm Lou.  I have been driving a old Ford 120 for about twenty years.  It is a Hydro static last year it died as in stopped moving.  I grabbed another one with a four speed and switched decks and I'm mowing with it-- but--I want my old Hydro back.  I retired over the winter and now I have the time to work on the Fords I have collected to keep me busy when I retired.

I have a couple or other Hydro's that I could switch out but I want to tackle fixing this one.

1.  I did have it fixed once and it only ran about ten hours before its demise.  This guy told me it was made by peerless.  Where can I find a manual for that transmission?  Before I run off half cocked what should I check that may be obvious trouble shooting without tearing into it?

2.  The deck that I have been using just all of a sudden started throwing its belt.  I got a new one and after it threw it twice I quit.  can't afford to replace it again.  I suspect that it is an alignment problem but how do I check to see which pulley needs the adjustment?

I guess I'm a average backyard mechanic.  Anyways great to be on-board and I look forward to hearing from some of the members.  Thanks See ya  Lou

Edited by loustar, May 02, 2014 - 06:59 PM.

• Gabriel and propane1 have said thanks

#2 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

FORDoholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,483 Thanks
  • 39,716 posts

Posted May 02, 2014 - 05:53 PM

:wave: Hi, Lou! Welcome to the forum! We may need more info on your Ford to figure out  things. Have you got a model #?

#3 loustar OFFLINE  

loustar
  • Member No: 56568
  • 3 Thanks
  • 2 posts

Posted May 02, 2014 - 06:55 PM

Hi