• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 propane1 OFFLINE  

propane1
  • Member No: 54307
  • 6,104 Thanks
  • 3,196 posts

Posted April 07, 2014 - 05:02 PM

Took the head off and some other things.  Anybody have a rule of  thumb on what valve guide gap should be? I can't feel much but I am just a back mechanic, so just wondering your thoughts. Noel

Attached Thumbnails

• Picture 591.jpg
  • Picture 593.jpg

• superaben said thank you

#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,750 Thanks
  • 7,522 posts

Posted April 07, 2014 - 07:30 PM

These manuals will help.

http://gardentractor...service-manual/

http://gardentractor...ine-rebuilding/

http://gardentractor...service-manual/

Good Luck, Rick

Edited by boyscout862, April 07, 2014 - 07:32 PM.

• propane1 said thank you

#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted April 08, 2014 - 05:06 AM

Looks like the Head gasket was fine on it. That carbon buildup is typical in those engines. What does the cylinder wall look like?

#4 Sprint 6 ONLINE  

Sprint 6
  • Member No: 30633
  • 162 Thanks
  • 216 posts

Posted April 08, 2014 - 07:36 AM

Looks like it was burning some oil, since the side of the piston is washed clean.  I bet it has a broken ring, my LGT165 did.  They don't get kept clean due to the closed sides and run hot and pinch the rings.  Mine had a gouge down the cylinder where it broke.  Mine is now bored .020 over with new valves and rod.  The increase in power was amazing, and I thought it had power prior to the rebuild.  I got my kit from ebay, I was skeptical of quality, but it has run a season now with no problems.

#5 propane1 OFFLINE  

propane1
  • 6,104 Thanks
  • 3,196 posts

Posted April 08, 2014 - 05:00 PM