Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Lenovo Pc Down Again!


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#16 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,657 Thanks
  • 29,842 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted April 03, 2014 - 11:35 AM

If you have a PCI or PCI express (this being the best) you can by just a card and install it plus the driver (comes with the card) and keep right on trucking.

AHA....just remembered my old backup computer had the same issue & I bought a new card for it.  This motherboard has a matching plugin port!  If it goes down again, I'll install the card out of the old one.



#17 WNYTractorTinkerer OFFLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,320 Thanks
  • 4,666 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted April 03, 2014 - 12:02 PM

If you haven't already-  BACK UP YOUR DATA!  Mother dear could be on her way out..  (Mudder board)  Happened on my Lenovo..  GRRRRR


  • olcowhand said thank you

#18 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted April 03, 2014 - 02:40 PM

If it does it again, I will try it.  That would indicate motherboard or OS.  She's been working fine since I did that "power-down" thing.

 

If the problem goes away using the disc it is the OS causing it.  If it still does the same then something with MB.



#19 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,712 Thanks
  • 8,564 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted April 03, 2014 - 02:41 PM

AHA....just remembered my old backup computer had the same issue & I bought a new card for it.  This motherboard has a matching plugin port!  If it goes down again, I'll install the card out of the old one.

 

If the computer has a PCI express slot that would be your best bet.



#20 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,657 Thanks
  • 29,842 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted April 03, 2014 - 03:49 PM

If the computer has a PCI express slot that would be your best bet.

 

Yep, PCI Express x 16


  • HDWildBill said thank you




Top