Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Anyone Else That Needs To Add Transaxle Grease Easy.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,939 Thanks
  • 3,320 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 22, 2014 - 07:03 PM

RED, the 917.254450 has serious axle leaks, and the rims are frozen to the axle so a proper fix is not possible. So, every year now for pre-mowing maintenance I pull the pan and add 2 funnels of "00" grease. This goes with an oil change, steering lube, and air filters.

Attached Thumbnails

  • P1090874.JPG
  • P1090875.JPG
  • P1090876.JPG
  • P1090877.JPG
  • P1090878.JPG
  • P1090880.JPG
  • P1090881.JPG
  • P1090882.JPG
  • P1090883.JPG

  • hamman, Traill95 and boyscout862 have said thanks

#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,745 Thanks
  • 7,517 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted March 22, 2014 - 07:59 PM

The only time I succeeded getting the wheel off one of those axles required disassembling the transaxle, pulling the axle and wheel out, and putting it on a press. Good Luck, Rick



#3 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,939 Thanks
  • 3,320 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 22, 2014 - 08:21 PM

These rims are NOT coming off, hence my method of adding grease to keep the transaxle working fine. Just finishing up with the second funnel full (5 hours) to get two in, but this will last till next year.


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#4 MH81 OFFLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted March 22, 2014 - 08:33 PM

Ryan's greens mower is pumped full of regular grease.
  • larrybl said thank you

#5 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,939 Thanks
  • 3,320 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 22, 2014 - 08:37 PM

Ryan's greens mower is pumped full of regular grease.

I would be doing too that except I was given 5 gallons of "00" Dura Lith grease.


  • MH81 said thank you

#6 Gabriel OFFLINE  

Gabriel
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 52459
  • 1,440 Thanks
  • 1,858 posts
  • Location: East Central Indiana

Posted March 22, 2014 - 09:07 PM

Ryan's greens mower is pumped full of regular grease.

 

 

I would be doing too that except I was given 5 gallons of "00" Dura Lith grease.

I'm not sure if regular grease should be used in a trans. like yours. Maybe yours is different than some I'm thinking of.



#7 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted March 22, 2014 - 10:27 PM

I would be doing too that except I was given 5 gallons of "00" Dura Lith grease.

 

Free is good.  :thumbs:

 

I'll tell you, though.  I'd rather watch grass grow that watch 00 grease pour into a transmission. 

 

Ben W.


  • HDWildBill and TX_Dj have said thanks

#8 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,939 Thanks
  • 3,320 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 22, 2014 - 11:01 PM

It took around 5 hours to get two funnel full into the tranny. More to the point, this is RED's annual service before a long Summer of mowing 2.5 acres.  I also am doing this service in my new shop which does take some getting used too.


  • superaben said thank you

#9 TX_Dj OFFLINE  

TX_Dj
  • Member
  • Member No: 54173
  • 141 Thanks
  • 84 posts
  • Location: Sachse, TX

Posted March 23, 2014 - 12:46 AM

Does that trans not have a PRV?  I find on my earlier tractors, filling goes a bit quicker when I pull the PRV so that the air has someplace to go.

 

Then again, I'm not pouring 00 into it. :D


  • larrybl said thank you

#10 larrybl OFFLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,939 Thanks
  • 3,320 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 23, 2014 - 12:57 PM

Ii doesn't have a Pressure Release, only access is the plastic plug, this is a 6 speed transaxle.


  • TX_Dj said thank you




Top