Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Experienced The Worst Technology Has To Offer


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,079 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted March 10, 2014 - 06:17 PM

Got to work today fired the old laptop up and got to work on some reports. It froze up. No big deal the old girl is a 2009 model and has some hiccups.

No reboot. My whole work life is on that computer....lost all my files as of now. Tomorrow I'll have access to a sata hard drive enclosure to see if I can get my files off. I got real lazy about back ups....4 months worth of data lost

Went and picked up a brand new Dell 17 inch butt kicker after work. New 24 inch led monitor and docking station. $1950 dollars. Turned it in for expense. We always have the option to purchase new computers but I don't like to waste money.
  • boyscout862 said thank you

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,639 Thanks
  • 29,838 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted March 10, 2014 - 06:21 PM

This must be "Laptop Death Week"!  My replacement was less than $300, but then I can't turn it in for reimbursement either. 

  Sounds like you did get a "butt-kicker" for sure!


  • oldedeeres said thank you

#3 toomanytoys84 OFFLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,079 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted March 10, 2014 - 06:49 PM

This must be "Laptop Death Week"! My replacement was less than $300, but then I can't turn it in for reimbursement either.
Sounds like you did get a "butt-kicker" for sure!


I had just bought a new personal laptop for 329 bucks at best buy.

Work I want high end since it's used every day for many hours. Plus I need the hd space. 1000 gigs on this one. And I want it to last 5 or 6 years.
  • oldedeeres said thank you

#4 Hammer OFFLINE  

Hammer

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 7332
  • 113 Thanks
  • 116 posts
  • Location: Nineveh Indiana

Posted March 10, 2014 - 07:19 PM

Spend a lil more and get an external drive for back ups. :)


  • boyscout862, superaben and oldedeeres have said thanks

#5 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted March 10, 2014 - 07:41 PM

Spend a lil more and get an external drive for back ups. :)

 

Absolutely.  :thumbs:

 

Ben W.


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#6 larrybl ONLINE  

larrybl

    Texas Member

  • Site Supporter
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 415
  • 4,953 Thanks
  • 3,326 posts
  • Location: Central Texas

Posted March 10, 2014 - 07:54 PM

I don't have much to back-up (finance wise) and I make a point of saving any updates to two separate flash disks. One for backup, the other to update the other PC. Pictures and vids are burnt to DVD periodically. I still have Duke-3D somewhere.

As for work, I use the network drive to store critical files. Still using XP at work, finally got up to Win 7 at home but I'm having a video card issue. If I click on an embedded youtube link the PC reboots, but if I am on youtube no problem.



#7 Guest_rdehli_*

Guest_rdehli_*
  • Guests
  • Member No: 0
  • 0 Thanks

Posted March 10, 2014 - 08:23 PM

man that's a bad laptop day, bet that new one has mach 1 speed

#8 Cvans OFFLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,486 Thanks
  • 5,014 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted March 10, 2014 - 09:09 PM

I feel for you. Good luck with the change over.

My old 2008 Toshiba is setting on the floor next to me. It takes almost 30 minutes  :hitting_self_roller: for it to completely boot up so I can look in the files for things that never got transferred over to this one. Fortunately that only happens every month or so. One of these days she's going to die.  :boo_hoo:  



#9 KC9KAS ONLINE  

KC9KAS
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 10038
  • 4,783 Thanks
  • 4,303 posts
  • Location: Holland, IN

Posted March 11, 2014 - 04:22 AM

Several years ago our VFD purchased a computer and a fire related program.

We had the 1st Windows 95 computer and the program wasn't ready for 95, so I was in constant contact with the fellow that sold and built the program.

 

The point I am getting to is in all of the manuals and in his notes he preached Back-Up, Back-Up, Back-Up!



#10 TAHOE OFFLINE  

TAHOE
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,488 Thanks
  • 4,947 posts
  • Location: "Hamiltucky" Ohio

Posted March 11, 2014 - 08:02 AM

Sounds like a bad day, but you got some new stuff out of it. :thumbs:  :D

 

My work desktop is a Dell, biggest piece of garbage, even when new. We got them new in 2008, I'm expected run all these new programs on this thing. Sometimes I wonder if it will keep going, I tell everyone it's on reverse speed on some days.

Bad part is, we do not get new ones unless ours dies.



#11 toomanytoys84 ONLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,079 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted March 11, 2014 - 09:23 AM

I also bought a 1TB external hard drive :thumbs:

 

I am attempting to recover not much luck. 



#12 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,706 Thanks
  • 8,562 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted March 11, 2014 - 10:23 AM

Try taking a live DVD and booting from it and see if it will read the hard drive to recover your data.



#13 toomanytoys84 ONLINE  

toomanytoys84

    Aaron

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 45129
  • 8,243 Thanks
  • 5,079 posts
  • Location: Ohio

Posted March 11, 2014 - 10:35 AM

From what I have figured out so far the FAT is completely gone.  I found a program that will "rebuild" your FAT32.  I am running it now.  Going to take awhile.






Top