Jump to content

Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bolens Ht 23 Hydro Fluid Capacity ?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,361 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted March 02, 2014 - 07:28 PM

Anyone know how many quarts required for a complete fluid change ?
I've got two of my HT 23's pulled into the garage and warming up so that I can do both. Once again, the fluid has water in it. Best to replace it ASAP which is now, 8-10" of snow expected overnight, need at least one to plow with.

I have five gallons of Napa universal tractor fluid which I've used before. I just don't remember how much they take.
Anyone know ?
  • boyscout862 said thank you

#2 Arti OFFLINE  

Arti
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 11282
  • 1,363 Thanks
  • 989 posts
  • Location: South West Wisconsin

Posted March 02, 2014 - 07:34 PM

2.5 Gallons, Looks like your 5 gallons will be just right.
  • NJKen said thank you

#3 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,361 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted March 02, 2014 - 08:08 PM

2.5 Gallons, Looks like your 5 gallons will be just right.


Thanks, I JUST found it and was coming back to say so.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1393808660.289559.jpg

Now I hope to be able to figure out how the water gets in. I'm guessing it's getting in thur the hi-lo selector shaft seal ? Or around the fill tube.

In a perfect world, the tractors would be kept in the garage, but that isn't going to happen with all the stuff I have. Might be time to clear out the unused stuff.
  • JDBrian said thank you

#4 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,361 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted March 02, 2014 - 09:15 PM

What do you large frame guys use for a filter on the hydro ?

I'm going to get Napa 1410 looks to be a replacement hydro filter ? Hope so.

#5 Deerlope OFFLINE  

Deerlope

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 98
  • 580 Thanks
  • 407 posts
  • Location: Northern New York

Posted March 02, 2014 - 09:23 PM

Ken when you go to get that filter ask what the micron rating is for that filter. You should have at least a 10 rating. The lower the number the finer the particles it can catch.


  • NJKen said thank you

#6 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,361 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted March 02, 2014 - 09:39 PM

Hi Fred

They do have one that is 10 micron, but it is 3 X's the cost of the 1410 which is 21 was just told so by a fellow member via pm.

#7 LPBolens OFFLINE  

LPBolens

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 874
  • 1,327 Thanks
  • 947 posts
  • Location: North Central Illinois

Posted March 02, 2014 - 10:15 PM

I read somewhere that Eaton recommends a 25 micron filter.


  • NJKen said thank you

#8 Cat385B ONLINE  

Cat385B

    HAZMAT CAT

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8002
  • 13,377 Thanks
  • 9,738 posts
  • Location: MN

Posted March 02, 2014 - 10:33 PM

If I were closer, I could help with the storage issue.
  • NJKen said thank you

#9 Utah Smitty OFFLINE  

Utah Smitty

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5557
  • 1,699 Thanks
  • 1,781 posts
  • Location: Northern Utah

Posted March 02, 2014 - 11:14 PM

Hi Fred

They do have one that is 10 micron, but it is 3 X's the cost of the 1410 which is 21 was just told so by a fellow member via pm.

Make sure you get a filter that meets the manufacturer's specs... too fine and you can starve the system and cause cavitation, etc. too coarse and you won't catch all the bad particles.

 

Smitty


  • boyscout862 and NJKen have said thanks

#10 Deerlope OFFLINE  

Deerlope

    New Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 98
  • 580 Thanks
  • 407 posts
  • Location: Northern New York

Posted March 03, 2014 - 09:37 PM

Most good quality filters will have a bypass in them. There are also pro & cons to having that bypass also.



#11 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,361 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted March 03, 2014 - 09:55 PM

Most good quality filters will have a bypass in them. There are also pro & cons to having that bypass also.


I've read before that a by pass filter should not be used in a hydro.
I have used both.
I ordered 21 micron filters from Amazon dot com today. They are Wix brand hydraulic filters. Same as the napa brand. Wix makes napa filters I believe.

Napa was 12.95 each amazon was 9.95 each with free 2 day shipping.
  • sodisr said thank you

#12 sodisr OFFLINE  

sodisr
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9153
  • 663 Thanks
  • 773 posts
  • Location: kenosha Wi

Posted March 04, 2014 - 10:54 AM

Yes Ken,,,   Wix makes NAPA filters  AND if we may ask what is the  Wix numbers ???

 

I have the Eaton  12 ..   Just wondering if there the same as my charts for the Eaton  12

 

                                                                                                 Thanks    sodi..



#13 NJKen OFFLINE  

NJKen
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9515
  • 1,361 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted March 04, 2014 - 11:41 AM

Yes Ken,,, Wix makes NAPA filters AND if we may ask what is the Wix numbers ???

I have the Eaton 12 .. Just wondering if there the same as my charts for the Eaton 12

Thanks sodi..


I was given these #s by a fellow member (Thanks Jim)

Wix - 51410
Napa 1410

I'm pretty sure the Eaton 12 takes the same filter. Matter of fact, I'm very sure it does.

#14 sodisr OFFLINE  

sodisr
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 9153
  • 663 Thanks
  • 773 posts
  • Location: kenosha Wi

Posted March 05, 2014 - 02:13 PM

I was given these #s by a fellow member (Thanks Jim)

Wix - 51410
Napa 1410

I'm pretty sure the Eaton 12 takes the same filter. Matter of fact, I'm very sure it does.

Ken !!  My charts show the Eaton 12 as    WIX  51452...

 

             I have been useing a Havoline   T -35    for 2 years now with no problems...

 

 

       Not sure if I posted that in the first place,,,,,,,,,,,,,,    I'm   jim   sodi



#15 Canawler OFFLINE  

Canawler

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1273
  • 1,943 Thanks
  • 1,801 posts
  • Location: York, PA

Posted March 05, 2014 - 03:19 PM

Ken !! My charts show the Eaton 12 as WIX 51452...

51452 has a bypass valve and is about 1 1/2“ taller. The 51410 doesn't have a bypass. Other than that the rest of the specs are the same.
The Wix crossover shows 51307 as replacing the Bolens number. That filter has a bypass valve but other than that is identical to the 51410. One of the other cross references shows the Bolens number as having no bypass valve so one of the charts isn't quite right.

Edited by Canawler, March 05, 2014 - 03:26 PM.

  • sodisr said thank you




Top