Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo

Electrolysis Questions


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 02, 2014 - 10:37 AM

I started using electrolysis to remove paint. So far it is working. It is a slow process, but does work.
My question is amps. I am using a large 250gal tote only filled with 190gal.
When I started with just 1 piece (seat) battery charger set a 12v 6amp I would only read 4amps at the meter. As I added more pieces I noticed the meter went up to 8amps which is also the meters max so I could be at more amps?

What gives? Am I going to burn up my charger? Let it do its thing?


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#2 boyscout862 ONLINE  

boyscout862
  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 8923
  • 9,769 Thanks
  • 7,536 posts
  • Location: N.E. Connecticut

Posted March 02, 2014 - 10:42 AM

IF you are pegging the meter, you may burn it out( the voice of experience). I'd back off or get a bigger battery charger. Pics please. Good Luck, Rick


Edited by boyscout862, March 02, 2014 - 10:43 AM.

  • HDWildBill said thank you

#3 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted March 02, 2014 - 10:50 AM

I agree with Rick.  Several members use a battery in between the tank and the charger. I haven't tried this personally yet but they say the process works better.


  • boyscout862 said thank you

#4 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 02, 2014 - 10:55 AM

I did try a battery with the charger, but I removed it because I didn't want to ruin the battery.

I plan on doing a complete tractor a few pieces at a time so this will take long time.

Will the over charge my battery? This process could take me a week?



#5 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,702 Thanks
  • 8,557 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted March 02, 2014 - 11:43 AM

I don't think you would over charge the battery since you have a constant drain on it as well.  I don't think I would use a new or a really good battery.  Maybe one that has been around for a while.  I think some of the guys who are more into the restoration's can answer your question on how long it will take better then I can.  Looking forward to seeing some pic's. Good Luck.



#6 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,434 Thanks
  • 39,673 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 02, 2014 - 11:58 AM

I have always put a battery in between. Seems to work well. If you are worried about the battery, use one that doesn't hold a charge for very long. I just think it is easier on the charger.


  • superaben and Sawdust have said thanks

#7 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 02, 2014 - 12:00 PM

I will have to bribe the wife to post a few pictures.

BTW, the tractor is Pennsylvania Panzer

 

I have since turned the charger down to 12v 2amp setting and reading 6amps


Edited by bread320i, March 02, 2014 - 12:01 PM.


#8 olcowhand OFFLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,626 Thanks
  • 29,836 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted March 02, 2014 - 01:21 PM

A battery will act as a shock absorber for the charger, but I never used one and did fine.  



#9 superaben OFFLINE  

superaben
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 11204
  • 7,664 Thanks
  • 5,677 posts
  • Location: Shenandoah Valley, VA

Posted March 02, 2014 - 01:37 PM

I have always put a battery in between. Seems to work well. If you are worried about the battery, use one that doesn't hold a charge for very long. I just think it is easier on the charger.

 

I've done the same thing.  The battery can be junk.  I had one that wouldn't even pop a solenoid, but hooked up to a charger it did the job.

 

Ben W.



#10 UncleWillie ONLINE  

UncleWillie

    wabbit wangler

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 10399
  • 12,748 Thanks
  • 7,698 posts
  • Location: Gaston county, NC

Posted March 02, 2014 - 02:05 PM

I have used a battery and it works well. Although I have a bunch of old batteries from junk cars. If there is a battery recycler in your area you can probably pick one up for 20 or so.



#11 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted March 02, 2014 - 02:27 PM

I did try a battery with the charger, but I removed it because I didn't want to ruin the battery.

I plan on doing a complete tractor a few pieces at a time so this will take long time.

Will the over charge my battery? This process could take me a week?

 

Adam, I have never used a battery in my set up and never damaged my charger. You should get your part clean in 24 to 36 hrs MAX., if it takes longer then that either your electrodes are dirty or your solution is not mixed correctly. Also if the B.C. cable ends start getting hot, clean the wire connections and also where you are clamping onto the electrodes. If you have any other questions, please ask away.



#12 Sparky OFFLINE  

Sparky

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 1574
  • 1,295 Thanks
  • 1,892 posts
  • Location: Pa

Posted March 02, 2014 - 02:56 PM

I have experimented with localized electrolysis with sucess . ( saturated cloths ) between electrodes . In general the more you want done , the more power ( rate ) it takes . Limiting your expectations in time and material helps .


  • Alc said thank you

#13 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted March 02, 2014 - 03:44 PM

Given the size of your tank you may want to invest in a larger charger to speed things up. I run a 16volt power supply on my tank, a 50gallon plastic drum. It will peg the 10 amp meter for the first couple of minutes with a large piece in the tank. The current eventually comes back down into the 2 to 6 amp range. I usually bolt the pieces to be derusted to the wire using a 1/4" bolt and a large ring type crimp on connector on the electrode wire. That way I know I'm getting a good connection and I can suspend the piece from the 10gauge wire to keep it from touching bottom or the electrodes. I find it helps to pull the pieces out and wire brush then rinse off all the loose paint at least once during the process.  It is slow to do a whole tractor and sometimes there are areas where it just doesn't seem to work. If you have oily or greasy parts they should be degreased before going in the tank to help speed things up. 



#14 bread320i OFFLINE  

bread320i
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 416
  • 593 Thanks
  • 1,220 posts
  • Location: Richfield Wisconsin

Posted March 02, 2014 - 03:57 PM

Brian,

I did take your advice from another thread and bolted my 10 gauge wire to the pieces.



#15 Pager450n OFFLINE  

Pager450n
  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 53757
  • 385 Thanks
  • 369 posts
  • Location: Utah

Posted March 02, 2014 - 05:12 PM

Just curious on what the solution is that you are using?  I have used a warm water/100% lye product that had better than previous mixes.






Top