Been So Lucky

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 zam OFFLINE  

• Member No: 49488
  • 62 Thanks
  • 28 posts

Posted January 28, 2014 - 12:45 AM

I am only 16 but have been so lucky on finding and saving history one piece at a time ,I haven't paid a thing for any of it (which i am thankful for ). People my age don't respect their history even if all i'm saving is lawn mowers and cassettes. Instead of a 100 dollar Ipod all I want is either lawn mower parts or cassettes from the thrift store. I have many thing from many people much older than me : I have a Channel Master 8 track player and 20 or so 8 tracks , Pioneer record player and 30 of my own records plus my dads records from his collage days , my dads TEAC cassette player which i use every day and 300 or so cassettes . my tractor collection includes a 1973 cub cadet 129 which i saved up all summer to buy it and the guy didn't want any thing for it i use it for plowing and pulling things around the yard. my newly acquire 1968 John Deere 112h in about 300 millon pieces (came from the brother i got the cub from ) the hydros out and that will be this summers project. I was lucky enough to find some rare little lawn mower 2 Swiser Big Mows (From 2 different people) they both look so homemade and cute at the same time, I am doing an engine rebuild in one of them and the other is my main little workhorse that I have used for several year. I am just so thankful for history itself .Be thankful and have a nice day.
  • NUTNDUN, olcowhand, MH81 and 14 others have said thanks

• Member No: 10038
  • 4,670 Thanks
  • 4,220 posts

Posted January 28, 2014 - 05:04 AM

Welcome to GTT!

I can't say I am a collector of 8 track tapes, but I have quite a few and some still work!

I have a player in the garage and once in a while I will play one of my "Old time rock & roll" tapes!

Oh yeah, I just went down memory lane.

• hamman, boyscout862 and Sawdust have said thanks

#3 Arti OFFLINE  

• Member No: 11282