Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Bush Hog Slip Clutch


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 07:40 PM

I am working on cleaning and repairing the BH slip clutch part number S2420 (not S2428 which I think is incorrectly numbered in the ST-32 manual). My clutch hub is damaged. I suspect this is a common part and will let you know what I find. I have taken it apart and laid it out on the hood. Looks to be all there, just not sure that it is working correctly. Any other gt have this same setup?ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390264692.285711.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390264708.210415.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390264720.143082.jpg ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390264734.945523.jpg this is the part that is damaged. Part # S2515 clutch hub.ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390264832.974986.jpg
  • olcowhand, DH1 and Jack have said thanks

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,568 Thanks
  • 29,820 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted January 20, 2014 - 08:02 PM

I've never seen a clutch setup like this on any other GT, but of course that doesn't mean it wasn't.


  • sacsr said thank you

#3 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 08:28 PM

I found this one on ebay. May have to get more info on the sizes........ I am measuring 3/4  (.75-.76) inside on mine. The hub mounts on the rear pto which measures 3/4 inches. So far, I have not found a Morse 350, just the 350A. And looks like it comes in a 1" and a 7/8" hole. Will the 7/8 work on my 3/4 inch pto shaft?  Here is the link to the part on ebay. http://www.ebay.com/...=p2054897.l4276

 

 

$T2eC16Z,!yEE9s5jGKMBBS!+zZKtdg~~60_3.JP

Edited by sacsr, January 20, 2014 - 08:30 PM.


#4 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 08:47 PM

More info on the 350A

 

ModelNo.Torque CapacityLb-Ft.** Max. BoreW/Std.KW and SSStock Min.Plain BoreStock                                                                                                                   FinishedBore with Std.Keyway andSetscrew         Approx.Wt. Lbs. Std.*BushingMin. Max Lengths

350A-1                            15 55             1 1/8      3/4                     3/4, 7/8, 1                                          2 1/2                      .365.425.480

350A-2                            25 110            1 1/8      3/4                    3/4, 7/8, 1                                          2 1/2                       .540.655.770


Edited by sacsr, January 20, 2014 - 08:50 PM.


#5 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 08:51 PM

This spread sheet is not working with me at all...... :wallbanging:



#6 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,228 Thanks
  • 28,593 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted January 20, 2014 - 09:05 PM

In order for it too stay laid out correctly and stay visible, it would almost need to be a JPG Of the spreadsheet. Can you lay it out and do a screen shot?

#7 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted January 20, 2014 - 09:14 PM

Scott, How is the hub damaged?



#8 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 09:27 PM

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390271253.544078.jpg

#9 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 09:29 PM

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1390271373.520143.jpg

#10 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,568 Thanks
  • 29,820 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted January 20, 2014 - 09:38 PM

Scott, you can have the NOS clutch you brought me, and I'll take the damaged one.  I can weld the broken one back up & cut new threads.  I'll likely never really use my tiller anyway, so my clutch won't need to be perfect.


  • Texas Deere and Horse, KennyP, sacsr and 2 others have said thanks

#11 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted January 20, 2014 - 09:43 PM

You can braze up the broken side and drill and tap the side 180 degrees from the broken side and use it to lock the hub down.


  • sacsr and boyscout862 have said thanks

#12 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 10:03 PM

Scott, you can have the NOS clutch you brought me, and I'll take the damaged one.  I can weld the broken one back up & cut new threads.  I'll likely never really use my tiller anyway, so my clutch won't need to be perfect.

 Daniel a deal is a deal. I got the decals for the clutch plus you added the screen to make my grill on the T-63. Way to nice of you to offer. But if I do have something you really need, then maybe a swap.  For now, I will keep looking to see what I can do to repair what I have.There are both 250A and 350A-2 on the internet that are the 3/4 hubs.......wonder if either of these would work?? The 250A cost sure looks appealing but may not be able to hold the load. The 350A-2 is more expensive and has a higher capacity. What do you think the 250 and 350 designate?



#13 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,568 Thanks
  • 29,820 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted January 20, 2014 - 10:10 PM

I'm betting the numbers designate the width.  I figure the 250 is 2 1/2" wide, with the 350 being 3 1/2" wide.  Measure yours, bets it's 3 1/2"



#14 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,568 Thanks
  • 29,820 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted January 20, 2014 - 10:13 PM

Between the 250 & 350 on ebay, notice how much wider the 350 sticks out past the adjusting nut than on the 250.


  • sacsr said thank you

#15 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

    Bush Hog Addict

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts
  • Location: Eastern NC

Posted January 20, 2014 - 10:15 PM

Yep you are right. it measures 3.543 across. Another piece of the puzzle solved....so that means my choices are the 350A-1 or 350A-2. Looks like you can loosen the nut to reduce or increase the slippage. If that is the case, unless I need something as low as 15-24 lb-ft torque capacity, the350A-2 would work.






Top