• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Sawdust OFFLINE  

Sawdust
  • Member No: 36549
  • 4,523 Thanks
  • 2,831 posts

Posted January 06, 2014 - 05:05 PM

Well you folks have probably experienced this before but since I'm new to the hobby it was my first. I was at my local scrap/dump yard the other day. They usually have 6-8 GT's sitting around so I check every few weeks. There was nothing I liked because most are usually the newer models. I was looking around & there she sit sitting higher & more proud than any other GT there. It was a Sears SS14, even though with no hood her grille was in tact with no damage, engine turned over by hand with compression, tires in good shape, & all looked complete. I circled her several times to make sure. I felt like a kid looking at his first Red Ryder BB Gun. After a few minutes of foaming at the mouth I looked up & here comes the yard guy & without even asking he said I think it's sold. The guy is suppose to pick it up Saturday but left no deposit. My heart sank but appreciated his honesty by letting the other guy have first choice. Saturday finally arrives & I'm sure this guy didn't show up because we had snow & cold weather moved in the last few days. It was too bad out to pick it up so I went out in the wife's Jeep with her along with the cash money at hand to pay & pick up later. I put a broom in the back to brush her off along with a tarp I also brought to protect her from the freezing rain that was coming. Just as I pulled up I saw an empty spot where she was sitting a few days before. My first thought maybe they moved it but no the SS14 was nowhere around just an empty spot where she was sitting. I only have a fw GT's on my wish list & this was one of them. I understand they only made these for two years so this is the first I have seen....so maybe next time.  :D

• MH81, Texas Deere and Horse, hamman and 10 others have said thanks

#2 Ryan313 OFFLINE  

Ryan313

PK Fanatic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff