Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Backing Up For Clean Install. Linux


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted December 29, 2013 - 08:57 AM

The computer is starting to act funny so I want to do a clean install, either back to Ubuntu or try Mint. I am not sure on what to backup or exactly how. I am assuming that I need to backup all the photos and files I have downloaded. What else? I only use this comp for web surfing and storing tech stuff so its not like I have tons of info or programs that I have to have, I just dont want to have to find all the tech manuals and tech info and DL them again.

 

I have never been able to get the Ubuntu cloud backup system to work for me so using thats out. I do have a Passport external HD that I can use.

 

Any help would be appreciated.


  • Texas Deere and Horse said thank you

#2 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted December 29, 2013 - 09:29 AM

Yes, backup all photos and documents you might have on it. Also if your like I am, backup your favorite saved bookmarks.
  • coldone said thank you

#3 lyall ONLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted December 29, 2013 - 10:29 AM

you can backup the files onto CD/DVDs, memory sticks, spare harddrive/s

check you internet company for storage,  mine I get 20 MB storage for free.



#4 WNYTractorTinkerer ONLINE  

WNYTractorTinkerer

    Tinker Master

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 10789
  • 8,316 Thanks
  • 4,663 posts
  • Location: Avon, NY

Posted December 29, 2013 - 10:50 AM

This thing should be able to hold everything you have!

 

http://www.ebay.com/...5657923?lpid=82



#5 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted December 29, 2013 - 11:08 AM

I have a passport 100G portable HD so I have somewhere to put everything, I just dont know what I need to put on it.



#6 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 29, 2013 - 11:14 AM

What OS are you backing up?  If you are backing up a Linux Distro just backup you home folder.  Bring up the file manager and click on your home folder, then right click and bring up properties.  The dialog box will show you how much you have to back up then you can plan accordingly.   I would think the passport would be enough but...  You may also want to look at LXLE, that is what I'm currently using.  I like the how polished it is and it fly on my hardware.


  • coldone said thank you

#7 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted December 29, 2013 - 10:13 PM

I currently run Ubuntu 12.04. Its been acting a little buggy, slow at times and hanging up mostly on net pages and videos. I am sure its stupid stuff I have done over the year.I am wanting to try out some other OSes. I did a live USB with the lxle. Gonna give it a try on the USB. The machine I am putting it on is a Lenovo R52 with a 40G HD and 1.5 gig of memory. I also have Mint 14 iso i can play with. I dont need much since all I do with a comp is surf the web.

 

With the lxle, whats that "pad"on the upper right corner of the screen?


Edited by coldone, December 29, 2013 - 10:14 PM.


#8 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 30, 2013 - 08:55 AM

It just gives you the stats as to what is going on with your computer.  There it a little oval with an arrow in it in the system tray, click on it and it will hide the data pad.

 

There is a TSR that runs called Zietgeist in Ubuntu. disable it and see if your performance doesn't improve.  It is used for indexing so it makes your searches on the computer faster.  Trouble is it logs what you are doing and it tends to slow things down.  It is the same type Achilles heal that M$ has with windows and the registry.  Since you are only using the computer to surf the web you don't need it.


  • coldone said thank you

#9 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted December 30, 2013 - 06:08 PM

Whats a TSR?



#10 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 30, 2013 - 09:38 PM

A program that runs in memory and behind the scenes. An OS usually has quite a few of them doing different jobs.  You can see all these programs using System info or task manager.  If neither of these programs are currently installed you can get them from the software center.


  • coldone said thank you

#11 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted December 30, 2013 - 10:24 PM

Wow, just went into system monitor and looked at processes. Found Zeitgeist but didnt end the process. It gave me a big warning about crashing the system if I did. BUT looking at all the process and how many are tasking the CPU, thats totally different than a windows machine. In linux they are there but not running while surfing, in windows they are there and running all the time. Amazing, no wonder linux is faster.



#12 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 31, 2013 - 10:22 AM

when you try to end a process you always get a warning.  When I was running Zorn I went in and disabled it from starting on boot and never had a problem.  Boot your usb to LXLE and open the task manager, you will be surprised how many less processes are running in it. Yet you have all the functionality of the big boy's (at least I haven't found anything the heavier desktops have that I can't do in LXLE).  One word of caution, LXLE does not run an update monitor, to save memory, but uses a script that will call the update manager on a time schedule.  This can be a bit of a pain because you will be doing something and the update manager pops up in your face.  I figure it is a small price to pay for the speed.



#13 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted January 04, 2014 - 12:20 PM

Just changed over to lxle. That was easy! I spent some time looking at how to transfer all the files I wanted, bookmarks, passwords, etc.. From starting the install to having a finished product with all my stuff transfered over was less than 1 hour.


  • HDWildBill said thank you

#14 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted January 05, 2014 - 01:43 PM

Wildbill, I need some help. I cant get my printer conected with lxle. Network printer. Ubuntu, zorin, and mint found it with no problems



#15 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 05, 2014 - 05:34 PM

What printer are you trying to connect to?  Is it wireless or is shared from another computer on the net.?  On some of the HP multi-use printers you have to install HPLIP 3.13.6 or higher.


  • coldone said thank you




Top