• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Jcwilde1 OFFLINE  

Jcwilde1
  • Member No: 49116
  • 40 Thanks
  • 19 posts

Posted December 19, 2013 - 02:47 PM

I have seen some online tutorials of how to replace the brake band by dropping the transmission in the ST16 garden tractors. Anyone know how long (hours) wise it is to do brake replacement on one?

I know it depends on skill level, but assuming I know what I am doing is this a half day job or a two day job. Trying to figure out if I should tackle it before I start plowing snow, or if I should give it a whirl without brakes! :)

• iron Mike said thank you

#2 TAHOE OFFLINE  

TAHOE
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 24522
  • 6,488 Thanks
  • 4,945 posts

Posted December 19, 2013 - 03:28 PM

Well, I can say, I've been runing my 16/6 for about 2 yrs with minimal brakes, basically the steel band is all I have.

I was going to actually pull rear and change it out and do a tutorial write up a few weeks ago, but it go really cold the day I was going to do it and went by the way side.

With that said, I have pulled the rear out of my ST16 I am restoring and it can be a job. I pulled it with the rear hitch plate attached which I thought was easier, but there are two bolts up on top in front of seat mount that can be a bear to get to, the nuts on the back side require you to have small hands and be a contortionist to get to.

Let me think.....

*remove shifter knob

*2 bolts under seat

*brake rod up front disconnected from pedal

*high/low shifter rod disconnect from rear end under back seat- this one can be a bear too.

-Remove cotter key off shaft in rearend

*drive belt- slide off motor first or once rear is out, slide rear forward, then remove belt keeper off *tranny and remove.

*unbolt Ebrake lever off left side. ( make sure it gets lined up as tranny is sliding back up in, bear to

do afterwards)

*3 bolts on each side inside/under fenders.

*Then deal with brake band once rear is out.